Realityhubs & AAA my new Steem-fanboy Hangout + Review Insdie, I promice

in #realityhubs5 years ago

Hey Reality Hubbers

It's your boy @chekohler here you know I'm a sucker for all things steem. Like I'm totally waiting for steemtaku action figures and steem cosplay and like whats that other shit neckbeards like to see?

I don't know I googled that stuff that soy boys and fan boys like to get into thought it would be relevant.

So we all know good and well that I am a reviewer, yes I am the bane of the internet. People who have zero creative ability but think they can critics creative content like movies, games, music like we're getting paid to lay into it.

Isn't that great? By golly gosh, if that is what the internet wasn't made for then I don't know what is.

So if you like movies, music, books, art, fake tits, fat asses, products or experiences and are looking to bitch about it or give credit where its due then these are the hang outs for you.

RealityHubs (not to be confused with reality kings the proud makers of Bang Bus) and AAA not to be confused with other episodes of Bang Bus are platforms looking for reviews. Reality Hub (@knowledges) is all about broad stroke reviews while @triplea.reviews is more media centric.

Well enough about the message from my soon to be sponsors, time to get into the reviews shall we?


Review for The Great Hack

@minimining suggested I start reviewing documentaries so I managed to check out one on Netflix recently called The Great Hack

What is The Great Hack about?

Filmmakers investigate the Cambridge Analytica scandal, as uncovered by Carole Cadwalladr and why data rights and online privacy is so important.

scrgga1au7.jpg

Poster for The great Hack - raventribune.com

What I thought of The Great Hack?

This documentary is a fascinating account of The Facebook/Cambridge Analytica data scandal.

In early 2018, Cambridge Analytica became a household name. The company had exploited the personal data of millions of Facebook users, without their knowledge or consent, and used it for political propaganda.

One of the film's best features is the way in which it renders invisible data exploitation visible, by giving shape and colour to the 2.5 quintillion data points we produce every day.

Understanding how this data is collected, shared and (mis)used is difficult for most of us to comprehend, but the Great Hack does a good job of visualising it.

The documentary highlights a theme that we we have not fully grasped and that's the supreme influence these networks hold on the world and how data can be used for nefarious purposes for pure profit.

It also shows that these are premeditated moves and have been long in the works having countries with fewer laws and protections often serve as testing grounds for the worst practices by companies.

Trailer for The Great Hack

My rating for The Great Hack

We all know how Facebook and other social media abuse our data for profit but I don't think we realise the scale at which they do it or how profitable it really is for them.

I would encourage everyone to share this documentry with friends and family and really show them how bad it is, also feel free to punt steemit on them in the process.

I think its an interesting expose but doesn't go deep enough into Facebook but focus mainly on the elections and would have liked to seen more of how manipulation continues to plague these networks.

At a running time of almost two hours, The Great Hack is overlong, but it remains a largely engrossing watch.

Insightful none the less and I give it a 7 Likes out of 10

Have your say

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
blocktrades.jpgLikecoincryptocom.jpg
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow!!! Wonderfull ! I didnt know that it was a movie about that. Have to see !!!
Maybe better Than Barbie.
!popcorn

Posted using Partiko Android

I would really recommend you check it out and I can only imagine this is the tip of the ice berg, they got caught once!

Cambridge looks like a scape goat for the bigger issues Facebook has

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes I Will try this weekend.
👏👏👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49