Women! Were You Taught Growing Up How to Invest in Real Estate?

in #realestate7 years ago

I posed this question on my FB Profile and the answers were very interesting. Screen Shot 2017-10-18 at 8.56.29 PM.png

Here are a couple replies:

"Are you kidding? My parents were the type that thought that even discussing financial matters in any way shape or form was "Not for me to worry about." I really wish they had. It would have saved me alot of heartache. So, yes, me! Hand raised."

"nope, the advice given to me is, get married and your husband will invest all your profit in Real Estate. And, when he dies you will get it."

What were you taught about buying a home or investing in Real Estate? Please comment.

Sort:  

I realize that your question was for Women, but as a male I was never taught about investing in real estate. I am happy that I was alive long enough to have seen real interest on mortgages. Isn't that the reason we have pragmatic interest in cryptocurrency; money got so screwed up that you cant earn diddly squat in a savings account. The generation after mine has never seen interest above 3% but when i was a kid it was 6-10%. Meanwhile credit card rates have always been 21%. I feel like 2-3 entire generations were not taught about saving.

Congratulations! Your post made this week's Top 5 Real Estate Posts on Steemit This Week . Keep up the good work!

I helped my Dad with repairs around the house we were renting out growing up, but that only happened after I nagged him like crazy. I still learned nothing about renting until 2007 when I had to help my Mom evict a tenant. Yes, it was a sink or swim situation. I still don't know what I need to about investing in properties.

Congratulations @frannyknight! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @frannyknight! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51