Investing to real estate: My story

in #realestate6 years ago

As I mentioned in the post before, I received some unexpected money (14 000 €) and I decided, that the best option will be to invest it to real estate. I knew about it and had some (not very good) experience from a few years ago. I'm saying invest, because I already owned my own apartment, and this will be purely for renting. So I started to look for a 2 or 1 room apartment somewhere closer to the Vilnius center, in the areas I know the best.
But there is a good saying, that if you don't know where to invest - invest to yourself (knowledge). As this will be a quite expensive purchase, I decided to collect more information about investing to real estate before buying something. And I came across some online courses. Chose the one, that looked the best for me and purchased it (around 100 € for 7 days course). And it was really worth the money, as I got a lot of knowledge from professionals, who are working with investing for a long time.
So I started to look for an asset, that could generate me more revenue than just a simple 1 or 2 rooms apartment. And in Lithuania at the moment that's the dormitory type flat. As they are not very popular and their prices are lower than a normal apartment in the old (build 20 - 30 years ago) buildings. But, of course, they have their own issues.
After 2 months of intensive search I decided to stick with a flat that was in the building next to the one I was living. As I was thinking about short term rent - it will be much easier to manage it. And the location is quite good - just 2 km away from the old town.
So for 41 000 € (unfortunately the price was average, not below the average, as my first intention was) I bought 2 rooms dormitory type flat. It looked like this:


Entrance to the flat


First room and the entrance in the back


First room and view through the window


Entrance to the second room. On the left there is a small kitchen, on the right - room


Kitchen in the second room

IMG_5389.JPG
Kitchen in the second room


The second room.

IMG_5382.JPG
Toilet

IMG_5383.JPG
Bathroom

Now you probably remember, that I had only 14 000 € in my pocket. And the flat price was 41 000 € It's probably quite obvious - I took the loan from the bank. But as it was my second loan, I had to cover around 30% of flats value by my own money. Actually, I had choice, different banks send me a different offers and some asked for a lower initial contribution but gave higher interest rate. So I chose offer with the the lowest interest rate and spend all my money to buy this flat.

But I had a plan.

P.S. Check (or wait) next article for that.

Sort:  

Congratulations @amonas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57