Real Bodies Exhibition - Las vegas - The Vascular System.

in #realbodies7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to separate the two posts because in my mind this part of the show is more factual and less controversial. Don't get me wrong this also creeped me out big time! haha but in a different way.

If you missed my first post on the real bodies exhibition you can check if out here.
Real Bodies Exhibition - Las vegas

Ok so bang! just as you walk in the room there is a floating head... :o

The complexity of the our bodies vascular system is simply breathtaking. I have no idea how they separate this but once you get past the shock of what you are looking at its simply amazing.

The leg for some reason i found worse than the head... i think its because the structure of it was perfect whereas the head looked a little 'squished' for want of a better phrase.

I think the dark atmosphere in the room really added to the 'vibe' of this part of the exhibition. I don't know why but it had the feeling of going back in time... Perhaps my arty side was coming out but that is the only way i can explain how it felt...

The arm and shoulder here again had a weird feeling for me.

I think it must be to do with seeing sensory parts of your body displayed in such a way.

This part of the exhibition felt more real than the cadaver side and i felt more like these were body parts. Strange.

Again it is simply breathtaking how complex our bodies are. Just look at the shoulder! Gives you complete respect for doctors and surgeons that they can dedicate their lives to not only trying to learn about this complex machine but also how to start repairing it!

I hope you have all enjoyed these two posts and it has certainly been an emotional as well as education experience for me. It was actually good for me to explore the way i felt about it during these posts as well.

Thanks for sharing the journey with me guys and hopefully it will prompt you to check out the show yourselves :)

Sort:  

Wow! That last photo reminds me of the horse scene from the movie The Cell. :)
Purdy Horsie - Imgur.gif

I haven't seen that film mate but i think your gif certainly helps haha. ouch...

It's a psychological horror/thriller with Jennifer Lopez. Kind of a Silence of the Lambs-ish film. It's not epic or anything like that, but worth watching imo. And in that scene you could see the heart beating - creepy! :D

Will check it out :)
Thinking about it there's something similar in the Resident Evil film with the grid laser.. lol gore/ zombie isn't really my thing but that was a cool film.

We are amazing !

i agree @major137! nature is awesome :)

It's really impossible when you really think about it 😳

These photos & the Exhibit are Amazing. . I saw it twice once in Tampa once in Chicago. As I remember the don't allow photos. So good for you on taking them. Not only does the exhibit keep getting bigger with more displays in each exhibit - they keep adding more exhibits worldwide.

So where do the bodies come from? I read they were not all dead volunteers- some were Chinese political prisoners- killed just for this exhibit. There are numerous reports over the years of China & Falun gong organ harvesting.

I think there have been a few of these rumours. I heard similar ones after i had been and started talking to people about the show. As far as i know, and i did do some research as it did bother me a bit, they are Russian donors who signed up for it.

simply amazing...

I was there too, not in Vegas, but in Prague, did you saw the misscarried children? frightening @b0y2k

@makerslab yeah that was pretty shocking but also very interesting to see the developing fetal stages. I did not think it was needed or appropriate to picture or document these though.

I have always wanted to visit Prague! Looks like a beautiful place (if you can avoid the stag dos haha)

@b0y2k yeah that's true, Prague is awesome indeed you NEED to come!

will keep banking the steem then :D

Wow, super interesting! Thank you for sharing this :)

Went to this one while I living in New York. Recommended for anyone really. Extremely educational and quite fascinating.

^^ you said it @kyriacos :)

The wonders of science and the human body, interesting exhibit @b0y2k.

Amazing! Nice and creepy at the same time! Mentioned in my last post! Cheers!

both posts are great :)

Nice one buvva :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48