You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Steve Jobs Created a Forward-Thinking Culture at Apple - Book Club #18: "Steve Jobs"

in #reading6 years ago

I don't understand people not complaining and discussing things that they know for sure... imagine this situation, you go to the doctor, he and his trainee enter the office, he thinks that you only have an infenction, but the trainee thinks you have something much worse, but since he is not the doctor and he is afraid of speaking up he stays quiet, the doctor looks at you and send you home with a couple of antibiotics, you actually have something much worse and end up in the hospital with something much worse which could be life-threating...

I actually made a post about this today, we all have a voice... why should we be quiet? Why should we live in fear of societies stigma and taboos? Why?! Being quiet is surrendering... I wasn't raised to surrender, i was raised to conquer

Do you think you would've been able to bear the burden of Jobs's tough management style if it meant being able to produce amazing results?

I grew up in a house that nurtured this, when i'm certain about something i don't rest until the other person sees it, my brother is the same, when he was certain about something he would defend it with his teeth, he would spend days discussing it with me, showing me stuff on the internet, just so i could realize i was wrong... I think i would do great in a steve jobs company!

Sort:  

Yes! It is a huge issue and I love your example with the doctor and his trainee - that's one that should hit home on an individual level. Every voice matters and everyone is entitled-no-obligated to share it! I hope more people can check out the post you made earlier and learn something from it. Communication is everything and we now live in a society that allows for communication on a global level, but the individual has to take charge and actually do something about it! I'll link your post right here for anyone interested - https://steemit.com/blog/@teutonium/speak-up-climb-the-stairs-and-change-the-world

That's phenomenal and it definitely shows in how you interact and share your thoughts here on Steemit! I also grew up in a similar way - you can have strong opinions, but you absolutely have to back your opinions with passion and knowledge about the subject at hand - that's the real key component - to have strong opinions AND the knowledge to back yourself up.

Thanks for linking my post :D!!
Backing your opinions with knowledge and passion is a must... i've seen plenty of people that, when asked why they think a certain way, or where they learned that knowledge their answer was always the same: "It's what people say" or "i was taught this way", when further asked they got angry and left the conversation... I always try to back up my knowledge, and, if i realize that i was wrong, i just say sorry... why is it so hard for certain people to say "sorry, i was wrong"!!
I think i never left the "why?" age that children have when they are young, i'm always asking "why?" and "how?" to other people's opinions, it sometimes gets on their nerves a little...
And again, thanks for reading my post :)

Anytime my friend! It's truly a great post, I hope other readers checked it out! Absolutely, it's essential to know what you're talking about and to care about what you're talking about!

I also love your thoughts on saying sorry! It's better to ask for forgiveness than to never act at all! Haha, me too! I heard from Tim Ferriss a while back about asking why 3 times to get to the real root of an issue or opinion. It really works!

;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44