Read Between the Wines #11: The Bone Witch

in #reading6 years ago (edited)

the bone witch cover.png

Hello lovely Steemians

Its time for another episode of Read Between The Wines - Anything and everything book related and maybe a little bit of wine as well!


rbtw.JPG


Happy almost Easter Long Weekend!

As you know I am slightly Bookstagram obsessed at the moment and have been ordering my books in hard cover of late. The covers really are gorgeous and still pretty cheep though Book Depository.

Now I did have my Easter reading all sorted, intending to read the first two books of The Bone Witch Trilogy by Rin Chupeco (the third not being released til 2019).

Given that it's Thursday afternoon and I am halfway through the second book I might have to rethink that strategy! (Thanks to a bout of insomnia last night)

I absolutely adore these books and if you like a bit of YA fantasy then they are worth the read. I also had lots of fun staging the photos for my Bookstagram account - trying to channel my inner goth!

Book #1: The Bone Witch


Bone Witch.jpg

Any book that starts with the line:

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave.

has certainly got my attention!

Here's the Good Reads Summary

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.

I also love this book trailer (book trailers are something else I could definitely get into to!)

Source

Its an incredibly creative and lyrical book. The chapters jump from the voice of a bard, who is following Tea to write her story to Tea's view point, flashing back to fill in the background. The world the author has created is rich and heavily asian influenced - the ashas are like magical geisha's, trained in the arts of singing dancing and entertaining rich patrons.

The plot often lulls in places, focusing more on detail of the world Chupeco butthe last few chapters give the book a memerobale ending and leave you waiting for the next one.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book - it was an easy read aimed at the young adult market so there was nothing to onerous.

Book 2 is shaping up to be as good if not better so look out for my review when I've finished it.


Til the Next Adventure Steem on With Love and Light


upcats.png

My beautiful UpCats were designed by the one and only beautiful @ryivhnn and are based on my beautiful Ava the Princess Cat


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Sort:  

I'm so excited to see a bookstagram junkie! What's your handle? ARE WE ALREADY FRIENDS? I'm book_banter :)

Yay.. I haven't found anyone else yet :) Following you now on Steem and IG :) I'm readbetweenthewinesclub. Have you been following the Appics stuff (which will be pretty much be a steem-like version of IG I think)

SO EXCITED to find a bookstagrammer. Thanks for the follow on IG.
No! I haven’t seen the appics stuff. I do use steepshot sometimes though! It’s a lot like Instagram.

I did not find the book in our place. but even so I am sure that the content is very interesting. that's my prediction after reading your post. I understand that the contents of his book is very good

thank you!

Wonderful mother of @shellyduncan, a very nice post, I am very happy if in the book tells about the life story, at other times I will look for the book to read, I hope you are successful, continue to fight for the sake of achieving a victories.

thank you so much. good luck to you too

Mature preparations in order to welcome the Passover feast, looking for interesting books...

I enjoyed your review of the Bone Witch and now i want to join bookstagram! I just read the audio version of the YA The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Nice post! I'm at work so I have to wait on the audio and trailer here. Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64172.98
ETH 2764.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66