You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Steve Jobs Created a Forward-Thinking Culture at Apple - Book Club #18: "Steve Jobs"

in #reading6 years ago (edited)

People are often amazed at how I can support two sides of the same story at the different times. I usually do take a contrary view to an argument not because that's my view but because I wants to actually bring out the possible best out of an argument. So assuming I have a case where some people believe :A is cute. And others believe that :B is cute.
When I met an A believer I'll argue that B is cute. And when I meet a B believer, I'll argue that A is cute. Usually at the end of the argument, I'll tell that my point didn't express my views but just to make sure I learn a lot more.

Jobs was a master at cutting through the noise and focusing on just a handful of priorities.

I wish I can develop this better. I heard a saying once:

if you are called to be a street sweeper, sweep the street so well that when you die the whole community will come to your grave and say - here lies a great street sweeper, who knows how to do his job well.

You may wonder where am going with that quote. Am building a case for focus against diversification. It's better to grow a few garden and put all your energy in that one that spreading your seed here and there, hoping one will someday grow into a tree. Steve was really good at this and that was what made the difference.

Now for your question of the day: I would have loved to work with him especially at the beginning of my career in my early and mid twenties. That could help give me lots of stamina for the future to come. Thanks Khaleel for always bringing some food for our thoughts.

Sort:  

Haha, I do the same thing @lordjames! Approaching debates by "being on both sides" (or at least mentally running through the process of being on both sides) can make you a much better debater and can give you really great insight as to where everyone is coming from. More politicians need to adopt this mentality.

That's a great saying - something that I've longed for and continually search for are those few priorities that I can make the most important things in my life and become the best at. I've found some great passions in life like real estate, crypto, technology, reading, writing, etc.... but I'm still searching for that one thing or handful of things that I can really home in on.

I would also have loved to work for him for a short while - many of those who worked under Steve flourished and learned how to sharpen their skills and change the world. Anytime my friend, I always love the way these conversations carry on into the comments and glean even more insight into the topic at hand!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43