Question 1 of 11. I want to hear your answers.

in #reading6 years ago

Turns out I’m liking this book. It’s a fascinating idea. Tim Ferriss asks 100s of people 11 questions. Their answers are this book. These people are leaders in their industries.

So I’m going to answer these 11 questions and I want to hear your answers in the comments. I’ll be answering 1 question per post.

Question 1 “What is the book (or books) you’ve given most as a gift, and why? Or what are one to three books that have greatly influenced your life?”

The only book I have given is Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey. I like to give this to friends that are struggling financially. I believe that it has some great advice to help turn your financial life around.

The funny thing is.... I don’t even really like Ramsey. I respect him though and feel like he has changed a lot of lives. I keep my finances in check and kind of find him annoying now. 😂😂

I will still give it to people that need to turn some things around.

A few other books that have changed or influenced my life.

The Bible
Harry Potter - taught me to learn to love to read. Never liked it before that.
Wattership Down
7 Habbits of effective people.
Wooden and all of the John Wooden books.
Mind gym

The list goes on and on and on! We will stop here though.

Really looking forward to your answers. Question 2 coming soon.

FB1207FF-6347-4A39-825D-408688DB07A7.jpeg

Sort:  

To be honest I haven't really ever given a book as a gift I don't think. Mostly because I'm not a heavy reader so I don't have a running list of recommendations.

However I do have some books that I've read that have had some influence on my life:

  1. Every Day is Game Day by: Mark Verstegen
    This is a great book for anyone interested in fitness. He is the CEO of the company (EXOS) that I did my internship with and was later hired by. They are the top Sports Performance company in the world.

  2. How to Win Friends & Influence People by: Dale Carnegie
    The old saying "it isn't what you know it's who you know" is so true and this book helps you learn how to make those necessary connections with people.

  3. Rich Dad Poor Dad by: Robert T. Kiyosaki
    Another one of those finance advice books that opened my eyes to the possibilities of what I could attain regardless of where I came from.

BTW I'm looking forward to the rest of this series.

I need to read rich dad poor dad. I get that one recommended almost every year. I read it a long time ago and don’t thing I payed close enough attention.

I enjoyed it and I think you would too. It encouraged me to learn as much as I can about finances so I'm not putting my kids at a disadvantage by not explaining to them the value of money and how to manage it properly.

read this?
51VrcDQs9CL._SY344_BO1204203200_.jpg

Sounds good. I’ll check it out.

For me it would be The Bible, Joel Osteen and the crazy guy Michael Savage. We all know someone that needs the Bible, Joel I just like his power of postitivity and for the Crazy guy Savage, I just like the fact hes original and he bashes both the right and the left in politics and he's so right in so many ways and you wont see him in the media because nobody can win an argument with him. If your not consuming all info, no matter your race, religion, political views etc, your not learning.....

A book worth recommending that I could give to someone is for sure: Michael Jordan - The Life.

20bb0817426f8e83de9a1ca84b57.jpg

Lazenby's book is undoubtedly one of the best biographies I have ever read and I am very happy that I had the opportunity to read it. Regardless of what sport you are doing, reaching for this book will positively drive you, because it will show you how much a determined man, self-confident and his skills that he can use in professional and private life. Reading you are tempted to be the same determined, focused, brave and giving 100% man who achieves success, because he always raises, no matter how many times he fallen.

It seems to me that this should be an interesting position for both people interested in sport (just like that), but also for people with sport who do not have much to do (but are interested in the biographies of people who have achieved great success in their lives thanks to their talent, extremely strong personality and persistence in pursuing the goal).

I would love to recommend a book - " How To Win Friends and Influence People " DALE CARNEGIE.

I really like to read classic items that have "created" what we call personal development in the US and Europe today. Carnegie is the oldest, most durable foundation of this category. More decades were built on his shoulders: Hill, Schwarz, Ziglar, Robbins. Even today's cleavage can lead to its primary inspiration with a little effort.

Carnegie's style is jovial, simple, very chatty. It's wonderful to read, preferably only 2 or 3 stories at a time, not to overdo it. A lot of things have already changed in the world, but the meaning of his anecdotes is timeless.

64119c574132b5f986e4b8599a3d.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47