[Book Review] The Authors Publish Compendium of Writing Prompts (My 2018 Goodreads #2)

in #read20186 years ago

Before I became regular on steemit, I was fascinated with the many amazing ideas from Reddit's /r/writingprompts. So when I stumbled upon this book I immediately started reading it.

Salam (Peace)

The Authors Publish Compendium of Writing Prompts

By Emily Harstone. Is a book I received for free as a signup bonus to some site. This book offers many prompts for writers both beginners and professional to excesise with and maybe help to create their next masterpieces.

The book is very organised and divided into well-thought sections.

Types Of Prompts

Starting by Regular excersises like taking a random sentences and build stories around them, Listening to people conversations in a cafe (I don't know if that's morally acceptable though) and writing 10 word stories (My #shorttens was inspired by this prompt.)

Then the Book goes into specific types of Prompts. The Classic Prompts encourage you to create your own version of old famous fiction, fables, fairy tales and films. The Novelists section is designed to help those stuck at their novels (with things like: write as many first lines for your novel as you could in 10 minutes.)

There are many other sections like Non-fiction writers and a section for Groups/Collaborative writing.

Screenshot_WritingPrompts.png

Encouraging Style

The book is written in a way to encourage you to do an action. Every Prompt in this book is followed by explanation, simplification and showcase of how it can be used in different ways. Sometimes listing book titles that has the same ideas for you to read.

However, this prompt does not require that your main character has amnesia, but just that one of your character does. It has to affect the way the story proceeds in one way or another.
-- Prompt: Amnesia

At 100+ pages, this book worth a read for everyone who wants to write better, want ideas for the next story or just to get out of the writer's block. While I know this isn't the only book (and might not be the best) about writing prompts, I know it does its job perfectly.

~ And now we should all start writing ~

What do you think?

I'm reading the book again for goodreads 2018's reading challenge. It's been a long time since my last read so I'm really enjoying it.
If you have a comment on the book please tell me in your comments.


This is my fifteenth day post in my #challenge30days that means I missed 4 days in the challenge, whoops!!
Cover image is taken from goodreads.com, writer image is taken from pixabay. Screenshot image is taken from my phone. All the quotes from the book are posted for review purposes.
Sort:  

Seems like an interesting book. The prompts seem to be creative and engaging (albeit not too useful for me and my poetry). It's good for writers to challenge ourselves and write about things we don't usually write. Prompts usually allow me to think outside my 'box'.

Yup, most of the information on the book are known by many writers... The way it was written is more interesting that the actual prompts.

Yeah, from the part I can read that's what's interesting. The prompts itself are nothing ordinary - but are presented in a way to actually push us out of our comfort zones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66619.84
ETH 3497.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71