Sort:  

Reupload ?! This have to stop. d.tube, stop deleting such good videos !

As far as I know it's not Steemit to blame but rather d.tube. Somehow they are (or want to be) incapable of storing videos for a longer period of time.

i meant d.tube, sorry steemit^^ you're right :)

Yea its really annoying that even videos with a lot of interest are gone after 2 weeks. my videos were gone after just 3 days and gladly i had them all added to my local ipfs already.
So what i am doing right now is call all my videos in a row through dtube to keep them somewhat alive. (making them fetch my video from my local node)
This needs serious improvement...

The Method to keep the videos online is to use an own ipfs node and pin the own videos
:-/

Yeah, the thing about dtube is, they take 25% of the revenue and use 2.5% to pay for storage. (That is 10% of the revenue that is forked to them). To make it available longer, youll have to either run your own ipfs node and provide the videos or rent some space yourself. At that point though, you may as well share the video directly via steemit instead of dtube, the only reason for using dtube at that point could be that you are not well known enough and hope your content is found on dtube. It can be found on steemit as well, of course (or any other plattform showing your posts from the blockchain for that matter) but dtube being just videos may give you greater chances there.

Thanks you for this tutorial. I have a Raspberry pi zero. maybe I will make my own IPFs Node with the zero.
Maybe with a USB drive or an USB Harddrive

Shame on dtube for losing this. Did they ever post a statement anywhere why videos which earned enough money have gone down anyway?

I have very seldom been able to get video's to play from d.tube, let alone the expiring problem. Hope they are able to fix it as we need a serious alternative to YT.

I was able to play them reliably from there, could even get the Video URL from their player and play the video in my local video player. Sometimes took a bit of delay for the video to get distributed but YouTube isn't much better for me when I try to play it as soon as Semper posts it.

Interesting, I watch alot of YouTube, but I am only able to get d.tube video's to play 1 out of 10 times. Must be some Internet routing weirdness from where I am??

Depending on the video the resolution may just be offline by down, sometimes the other resolution(s) still work then. But then the Video initially got posted I only had slight delays at start as the file got distributed through IPFS.

I thought that resolution might be the problem, so I would always check as I was able to view 480, but video's at 480 still had problems. I still am concerned about the video's expiring off IPFS.

As long as Semper keeps those videos pinned they shouldn't disappear from the IPFS network as he keeps a local copy. THe problem is with videos which he uploaded before via d.tube's upload form which have disappeared so far although they earned.
As Semper concluded IPFS is just not "release"-ready yet with content disappearing and you not having control over it.
I'd check and see if the content behind a given Hash (which you can get from the video url by right clicking the player) is still in the IPFS network via IPFS tools.

I will check that out, Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22