What to do with a Raspberry Pi Zero W ?

in #raspberrypi6 years ago

I finally did it... Yes I bought a Raspberry Pi Zero W.

glen-carrie-429-unsplash.jpg


Do I need it? NO
Is it fun and nice to have it? YES
Will I find some utility to it? Hell Yeah!!!

Just wanted to share some of the usage that I had so far.

  • PI-Hole
    A fantastic way to get ride of ads!!! It's straight forward to install - Will not copy paste their website.
    The dashboard is clean and neat!
    It's super easy to integrate in your network. Can be more or less tricky depending on your router and network environment.

  • RetroPie
    DISCLAIMER I'm not a heavy gamer - well I'm not even a gamer - but this is a fun way to use the RPi Zero W
    It's once again super easy to install and use. I played with NES emulator. It's working like a charm.
    For PSX or N64 it's not working I guess not enough power...

What else can I do with this Pi Zero W? Please comment so I can test and update...
I'm looking for "simple" solution meaning something designed for Pi.!

Sort:  

How does the Zero handle the older console emulators like NES? I've been thinking about giving it a go myself but I'd probably want to try it on the model 3 mainly for the extra USB ports.

I've used a Zero (not W sadly so had to get a wifi dongle) to make a motion activated security camera for my drive using motionEye. They make good media players too if you install either OSMC or LibreELEC

The NES emulator is working perfectly really. No hiccup no slowness nothing.
I just used it with my keyboard as a POC not really with like proper controller

I suppose many watches have more processing power than a NES did these days.

I've never played a Zelda game so was thinking about spinning up an emulator to give some of the early ones a go, feeling motivated now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54