Raspberry Pi Pr0n

in #raspberrypi6 years ago (edited)

Raspberry Pi

Back in 2015 I bought a Raspberry Pi, a few of my friends were kind enough to donate me a couple more and FrankenPi was born (Should that be 'created'?) I played around with it for a few months setting up Heartbeat and Ansible and then like those kitchen gadgets such as sandwich makers and bread makers ended up at the back of the cupboard gathering dust.

Fast forward to 2018 and I've resurrected FrankenPi. Having taken it apart my plan was to reconfigure it so that it looked a lot tidier and then find a proper use for it.

I work in the IT industry although the company I work for is predominantly Microsoft based I'm fortunate to have access to lots of IT equipment and Internet services so with that in mind it was more productive to bring FrankenPi to my office.

Having stripped it down I replaced the network cables with pretty coloured ones because clearly they'll work better.

I then realigned the Pi stack which meant drilling more holes in the switch case, all adds to the cooling dunnit.

I used Gorilla Glue to stick the USB powerpack onto the Switch, did a fresh install of Raspbian.

Next I created a Docker Swarm

Once Docker was up and running the next step was to install a Container. I chose alexellis2's Visualizer. My ultimate plan is/was to stick Mastodon on FrankenPi but the GIT repo seems inactive and the installation instructions are not very good imo.


ClusterHat

As usual with me, while messing around with one thing yet another "Ooh, shiny!" caught my eye.

I whipped out the old debit card and bought the latest Raspberry Pi 3 B+ along with the ClusterHat and a Pi Zero from Pimoroni
Rant: Why on earth would you sell a ClusterHat that ultimately requires four Pi Zero's and yet limit every customer to purchasing one Pi only?

I had to get a mate to buy two Pi zero's from two sources and I myself bought one more from a different supplier.

The fourth Pi Zero has now arrived and I've had a brief play. I'm not sure what I'm doing with it yet. To be honest it was a bit of an impulse buy, I just had to have it. :-)

Sort:  

This looks super cool. I wanted to buy a few of these for my newphew to play with. Any advice?

Buy him two.

    1. Two is always more fun than one.
    2. He'll love you twice as much.

Really? Why is that? He's only 8 but super smart, so I want to encourage his curiosity

I have a 3b and love it! Frankenpi cluster is a level up!

As a first project, you could easily make a light blink with such a set-up 8-). I'm more into microcontrollers as a hobby myself, but I understand, especially the Raspberry Pi Zero W is cute and shiny.

I have one Pi that's sitting doing almost nothing. I set it up as a local web server, but haven't been actively using it.

I'm thinking of getting a few more for my two oldest boys and a book about programming with Python using the Pi.

Personally, I think one Pi is boring. Once you've done stuff like connect via ssh and set up irssi and Mutt I sit back and think "And?"

You can never have enough Pi's and, as I say, given the Zeroes are £9.00 and I think I paid £34.00 for the new Pi 3 B+ they're certainly affordable.

P.S. I try to do EVERYTHING from CLI when working with the Raspberry Pi and on my main Linux boxes as well, I'm so old school. LOL

P.P.S. I've given links for people who might not know what we are talking about. :-)

We have a similar experience. The Pi could be exciting, but since we have access to lots of computers all the time experience is not as thrilling as the imagination first leads us to believe.

I really enjoy Linux. Do you do any script writing or automation? I'm looking into Python again.

Nope, I can't code for toffee (I'm lying there, I can do low-level html off the top of my head) but I can follow a wiki or a man page.

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

You could install an Asterisk server :D and install VoIP clients with your friends and have private call system ^^ http://www.raspberry-asterisk.org/

One board pcs are really great.
This sort of thing is a nice idea.

Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51