How to install 64 bit OS on a Raspberry Pi 3 - step by step for newbies

in #raspberry6 years ago (edited)


I decided made this how to because I'm also new to linux and I spent a lot in how to figure out why wasn't working the wifi and I fount on the internet a lot of useful how to but now are all together :D so hope this its shorting your time ;)
Also check out my others how to's

P.s. I'm not a native English speaker so I hope I have spelled correctly :D
I also want to thank to Don from NovaSpirit and all the guys from the community because I have learned a lot from them.

I decided to go with the Pi64 OS I fount it easy to work with and also have a desktop version (for noobs)

  1. First, you will need the Pi64 image, pretty self-explanatory , and write to your SDcard.
    I choose to use the ‘Desktop” version you can choose "Lite" and access as a headless system.
    Now I use Putty (check down the link how to use SSH) for connecting to the RP3 but on the beginning i use it like a desktop
    Here you can find more about it https://github.com/bamarni/pi64

  2. To start you need to download you desired version from here https://github.com/bamarni/pi64/releases/
    Extract the files from the .zip file that you just download it (you will have an image of the desired linux distribution)

  3. Visit etcher.io and download and install the Etcher SD card image utility. i found it very user friendly

  4. Run Etcher and select the Pi64 image you unzipped on your computer or laptop.

  5. Select the SD card drive. Note that the software may have already selected the right drive.

  6. Finally, click Burn to transfer Pi64 to the SD card. You'll see a progress bar that tells you how much is left to do. Once complete, the utility will automatically eject/unmount the SD card so it's safe to remove it from the computer.

  7. Now that you have an operating system, you can slot your SD card into your Raspberry Pi and connect the power you will need an keybord, mouse and monitor/display, plug them before putting the power ;) . Note it will take some time be patient.

  8. Once you have your Os installed it will pop up the login screen. type on the user "pi" and "raspberry" as a password. Now you need to solve the issue with the internet it will not connect straight to your local wifi. For this you need to open a command line and type this.
    This are the exact commands this will allow you to edit the settings for your wifi, leafpad its a text editor native in this os and until you will have internet connection to install nano or other editor you need to use this

sudo leafpad /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

in the new screen you need to add this lines

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
#update_config=1
network={
ssid="your wifi name"
psk="your wifi pass"
priority=5
}

Now press ctrl+x and save the file after reboot, to reboot you need to use this command

sudo reboot

Log in again as username pi / password raspberry
Now to update and upgrade your new system you need to open a command line and type this commands

sudo apt-get update
wait and when its finished type this one
sudo apt-get upgrade

Congratulations you are done now, enjoy your new os.

hope that you find this as an useful guide in how to install Pi64 os

If you want to Overclock your Raspberry check this How To https://steemit.com/raspberry/@dury10/how-to-overclock-your-raspberry-pi-3
If you want to Learn more about SSH chek this How To https://steemit.com/raspberry/@dury10/how-to-install-use-ssh-on-a-raspberry-pi-3-step-by-step-for-noobs
If you want to Learn more about Screen my favorite linux utility check this link https://steemit.com/mining/@dury10/how-to-install-use-linux-screen
If you want to Learn how to mine Verium with your Raspberry pi3 check this link https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@dury10/miner-how-to-start-mining-verium-on-raspberry-pi-3-step-by-step-for-noobs

I decided made this how to because I'm also new to linux and I spent a lot in how to figure out why wasn't working the wifi and I fount on the internet a lot of useful how to but now are all together :D so hope this its shorting your time ;)
Also check out my others how to's

P.s. I'm not a native English speaker so I hope I have spelled correctly :D
I also want to thank to Don from NovaSpirit and all the guys from the community because i have learned a lot from them.

If you found this How to useful give it a Vote if you don't leave a comment why and do not forget to follow me for more how to's!
Feel free to use and improve this little tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97