You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you writing for your audience?

in #rant5 years ago

Yes, you said it very well.

I don't care how many hours you spent writing it.
I don't care how "Quality" it is.
Is it interesting, does it spark thought or conversation? Does anyone want to engage with it?

I realize it is subjective, but what you write has to be interesting to someone that is here.

I have a trollish friend, who loves to stop by my posts and tell me his/her posts are better than my crap. So, of course I went to check it out.

The most recent post was a 2000 word walk-through of her local museum. Personally, I found it extremely boring and based on results everyone else did too.

I'm not saying it wasn't a great post and that no one would appreciate it, I'm saying it didn't have an audience that is here and available to see it.

Anyway, good food for thought.

And for the record, my least favorite "Quality Content" is plastic rewrites of topics that have been covered a 1000 times. "How To Improve Your Self Esteem". Etc.

Sort:  

Yes great point as how much time a post took has no reflection on whether it was liked or not.

Now I will say there is content that isn’t rewarded on Steem much that I do think has an audience elsewhere... but at some point it is then that content creators responsibility to work to bring that audience in if that’s the content they want to produce.

This doesn’t mean everyone needs to change what they produce to what the “crowd” wants at this time, but they sure shouldn't be complaining about it if they are putting no effort in.

Yeah.. the self esteem style ones are just boring.. tell me a personal story of how you are working on your self esteem or something to pull me in and that’s fine... but just writing static stuff for no one and then getting upset it’s not raved about is just silly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46