You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rant: You kinda did this to yourself - fat people edition

in #rant5 years ago

What I find baffling in Judy is the food selection and timing more than anything.

I'll preface this with the fact that I am also fat (working on being marginally less so), and that I've never gone on a hike (yet). However i have a friend that hikes and his interest made me want to look in to it more and research some stuff a bit as well as gain info from them.

Even before I started looking in to it, let alone after, I didn't know what foods exactly to pack, but never in a million years would I say that those foods were good to bring on a hike let alone eat before the hike. like just that alone makes me wonder the thought process here.

The exact reasons why people are fat vary a bit from person to person (Although i will agree with you here that this is a "you did this to yourself" thing)

To me it seems like a mindset problem for her. Meaning, something has to change the mindset to change the body. It's one of those things like "Lose weight, diet, excercize" are just words, and you're like "yeah that's right that's what i should be doing it" but once your mindset changes those words become instinctive like "all i have to do is diet and excersize, which is the stuff i've been saying this whole time, but now..."

What changes the mindset? While i'm no expert, it's the kinda revalations you get by doing something. Fighting through lack of motivation, but through regiment and being rewarded by the result. Sometimes it's something that just in your mind says "I don't want to be like this anymore" which could be brought on by a bunch of things

Nothing you can really do for someone like that except be there and support them when they're ready to make the move.

Hell, who knows, maybe this moment was the wakeup call she needed?

Sort:  

awesome response. For me, I didn't even realize that I had gained so much weight. I knew I was bigger, but my wakeup call was my friend who had not seen me in years. It doesn't happen overnight.

I think with all of the diet options that we have available now (for me it was simply eliminating most carbs, i ate a crap-ton of meat) and totally eliminating sugar and switching to a low-carb beer.

I lost nearly 20 kg but now exercise a lot more than i did before. I wasn't really capable of much exercise at 106 kg.

Judy, i'm afraid to broach the subject with her, because I don't know her very well. I do see her at the pub on a regular basis sucking down 6 ciders though and that is also one of the worst things you can do.

If it was a wakeup call for her, I don't know if it will trump her love for food and drink and you know what? If that makes her happy and she is willing to accept the consequences of being fat then I am not going to try to talk her out of it.... it is her life afterall. I just just like for someone to talk about how they are on a diet and then suck down 2000 calories for a "snack"... What would she have eaten if she wasn't on this diet? haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49