You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shit That's Bugging Me: Episode Two

in #rant5 years ago

This seems to be somehow ingrained in human nature. I experience very similar in the real world too. The method seems to be to pander to the ones with the most influence and money, tell them how great they are and lots of other nice stuff about themselves that they already know. They, in return, give you attention to keep you coming back to give them more. If they don't give you as much attention as you want and someone else is offering something that looks better if you change your attention to them, then make a scene about it and switch idols. Repeat pandering while complaining about how badly treated you were by your former idol.

I don't do very well at this as I'm not great at telling people what I'm aware they already know or telling them they're great if they're really not. I usually manage to avoid telling them what I think if they're being an ass, though. I do try to avoid totally undermining myself, even if I can't kiss ass.

#WhalesAreTheBest #PleesUpvotMe

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I make a terrible 'yes man' and I'm far better at saying, "No, man." It drives me batshit crazy when people go around chanting their nonsense about kissing ass and how it might lead to votes around here. I had a vote that was once worth nearly $20. Did a joke post one day asking why people follow. Some actually answered and said, "because of your vote!" The first thing I did was never vote for them again. Some had left compliments under my posts for weeks and I thought they were being honest with me. Now I'm far more careful. Anyone I'm talking to and upvoting, I've known for a long while and each of you have built up a strong enough rapport with me.

There's a huge difference between being genuinely friendly and being an ass kisser. I cannot stand those ass kissers.

That could be an eye opening post. I wonder how many weren't honest in order to keep getting the vote. I don't have much of an upvote, so it's hit and miss if I have enough power to give a reasonable sized vote to my commenters. I'll usually add a little something to their posts, though, if I like the comment, but don't have enough VP left. So I guess I'm hopeful that my followers are genuine, because they don't get much reward from me.

Maybe you should do an instructional post on how to spot ass kissers? 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

I might have the most amount of comments that don't have votes on them. I'm totally fine with that. I'd rather see people using their VP on posts. I have a little extra to spare and it adds up, so I don't mind. If the value goes much lower than this, people will get cut off because they'll need it more for posts.

How to spot ass kissers? Just look for them. Do they leave comments only on high value account posts? Do they tag the wealthier ones in their posts. Why are they not tagging those with less? Do they not want everyone to see, or are they just talking nonsense with the hopes of a paycheck? I could show you a couple but I don't want to mention names or be a prick like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18