You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Auto-voting Suspended... HEAR ME RANT!

in #rant5 years ago

Really? Someone complained that you commented without voting? I comment as much as I can, and vote when I am able! If my friends don't get a vote this time around I hope they know it will all even out the next day when I have more voting power again! But I suspect that I would unfriend anyone who complained about not getting a vote!

Sort:  

I may be overstating things when I say "complained". It was stated that an "upvote would be appreciated" - but I had already upvoted hours earlier. Sometimes I may take offence where none was intended, I don't know.

I make a lot of votes and many of my curation votes are pretty small. I'm sure there are people who think I am not very generous without realizing that my vote is what gives them the bigger vote that follows!

I certainly understand, Melinda :) All of this auto-voter nonsense started when I decided to stay on the platform and try to find a way to be more efficient, freeing up time for other things. Ever since I made that decision, I've been back to full time here... for what exactly? I don't know. Sometimes I just despair of it all... According to Steemworld, I made $0.04 yesterday.. but oh! Look! Over a dollar today! WooHoo!!!!

Screen Shot 2019-01-03 at 9.40.36 PM.png

Maybe I'll just cut back to two days per week. I'll do my own #eaglefriday and #mountainmonday. Other days I'll vote and comment a little but not post. There is no point for someone like me to post here.

Now, now Keith. My first account was meager, I screwed it up but I still re-joined. This second account is doing worse....but I am going to post and chat and comment w/o voting cause I enjoy it.

Sure hope you continue, too. We can be miserable together and laugh at each other's lack of progres and cheer each other on when we do good. Deal?

Time will tell @nana-nini. It seems I'm too addicted to ever leave. Addictions are generally bad things, however. I know this post makes it sound like I'm all about the money, but honestly, I gave up a long time ago on the idea that there would ever be a pot of gold at the end of this particular rainbow. How's your weekend going? :)

I guess addicted is the word....can't help myself. Lol

I'm guessing it is the younger generation who will realize Steemit millions.

I have said all along this is the kids money when we are gone. They aren't expectimg much and we don't want to disappoint them. Lmao.

I am probably a nuisance on here cause I don't understand the workings but just trying to stay in the circle I have. It is comfortable.

Weekend was great...nothing to post about, though. Pretty ho-hum. And you?

I will attest to the fact that there are people out there that will complain when you comment and don't vote. I will admit that there are days I spend a little more time commenting because my voting power is low. When you have as little SP as I do, it becomes almost worthless. I was crushed the first time someone reminded me that it was rude to comment and not vote.

I am pretty sure I haven't been back there.

While I enjoy a good upvote, if I have someone who doesn't vote, I don't know. I don't look to see what everyone votes because I don't want what someone votes to be the thing I look forward to. I would rather enjoy the comments and the people that take the time to come over.

Thanks, Melinda @melinda10100 I am glad it isn't only me!

I guess if you are only here for the money you might get upset if someone does not vote on your post. But I'm here to make friends and talk to people and I will vote when I can, but if I can't I'm still going to talk to my friends! And I probably really don't care if I am friends with the people who are only here for the money. A comment about not voting would just help me weed out the people that I follow.

Isn't that the whole point of social media? Make friends and have conversations? Voting is something I try to do, if/when I can, but, honestly mine is so low it really doesn't even count. ;)

Interaction is waaaay more important to me. I am not here to get rich quick. That ship has sailed.

We are in complete agreement on that! Besides, this IS my social life these days and I love every minute of it!

Well, you are certainly most prolific on here. I can't catch up with you if I was running at 5k speed. :)

I love it too. I wish I had a little bit more time to spend on here, but, I will take what I can get.

Time is something I have plenty of and I am so thankful that I have friends here to spend it with!

Oh, if I want extra time, I have to stay up late and squeeze it in. But, I am okay with that and some days, if I don't have to work, it is late into the night I go. After all there are plenty of time zones to cover!

That's for sure! And you do a respectable amount of quality commenting! I love reading the comments you write.

Thanks Denise, the thing is I did vote. The auto-voter was all about me trying to save some time while still being, I don't know... what would you call it? A good citizen? Whatever. If I can't find a way to earn more that $0.04 US a day ( like I did two days ago) then I'm not going to continue spending ALL damn day here, because that's what it takes to participate with even my current minimal level of "success" on the platform.

Say what you like, but this is a social network FOR PAY platform. If I just want to socialize with people and forget the pay and crypto and investment aspects of it all, I could just be on Facebook, where all my real world friends, relatives and every living person I've worked with or met can be found on a daily basis.

Do you know how many Steemit people I've ever met in real life? ZERO. (See, now I'm getting worked up again...)

I know some people are determined to be all super-positive and rah-rah about Steem, but I would rather have my eyes open and be realistic.

So what's to do? I could purchase some Steem. I'm actively trying to find a way but it's just stupidly hard to buy crypto with fiat. And it's dangerous too. One wrong click and funds just disappear. This has happened to me more than once, and it happened as recently as a week ago, just trying to send money from an exchange to here. Poof! Gone! Where did it go? Would you accept this b.s. from a bank?

I could try to lease some Steem. I know people do that, but I don't know how.

I could get heavily into the bots... I've been using the ocd-bot a little. It's supposed to be "non-profit" and for "white-listed" Steemians, all of which makes it sound a little less "botty" I suppose. I even know people who wrote EPIC rants against bots two months ago who are now spending money on that bot every day. I can't seem to raise enough Steem to make it worthwhile yet.

You said you like my rants, so this has been another mini-rant. I'm not angry about anything. I'm discouraged. VERY discouraged, and all the Steem-is-wonderful posts in the world are not going to change that at the moment. SUCCESS would make me happy. Failure makes me sad. Now I'm just waiting for some idiot to tell me to "work harder."

In better days, you could lease steem. I haven't heard anyone doing it lately and anyone who would be gouging. Oh, yeah. I love your rants. Mostly because they say things that most people only think. I know you aren't angry. You have a moment and the thing about you is that after that, you are fine, or at least approachable.

None of my friends are on Steemit. All of my relatives, real-life friends... yeah the same are all over on Facebook, so why am I here making nada? Please tell me! It is not for the money and its not for the recognition. I am a mediocre photographer at best and I don't even mind that, I am still a work in progress.

It is a social network for Pay platform, but, if people haven't got money to vote they shouldn't be hassled. By the way, I know you voted and the auto-vote must have a delay in it somehow. I am on auto for a few people and some come right away and then other days they are staggered. Oh. life in the cyber world.

How do you rate if you are a success? I mean, you are recognizable. Everyone knows you and your work. You win tons of contests. You are respected. The only thing you lack is the money that usually goes with it. But, that is the times and that is why I am hoping it gets better. When it does, you will explode. Nobody is voting much $$ because their votes are so low for them. They are used to rolling in it.

You are a success. Just a poor one. ;)

I am a failure because I am a photographer who continues to waste time here when I should be figuring out how to grow up and earn some $money!

I wasn't going to get into this, but I think I'm doing far better on Whaleshares than here. I have SIXTEEN followers on Whaleshares. I've posted about 20 times. My account is worth a sizeable fraction of what my Steemit account is worth, even after less than a month. I've been on Steemit for almost a year.

I needed to join Whaleshares and can't believe I haven't yet. I need to get off my you-know-what and do it.

I still have the code. Tomorrow is the day. I hope it isn't hard to join. Thanks for mentioning it!

It's really just a modified Steemit. Pictures look MUCH better because they display large. 14 days for a post to payout. No bots, no delegations. In a way its more "democratic." No, that the wrong word. It's more of a meritocracy. The cream rises to the top faster there - probably because there are so few members. I'm sure Weku is a lot busier but I'm banned from there so I can't tell.

I don't know. I waited until day 28 to make a post before I was banned. I'm not sure about busier. It does not have the same feel and they still aren't trading a coin. So ...

Whalestake can be Purchased so it is trading, but if you power it up, I don't think you can power it back down any time soon. If I understand correctly, it's more about power up and hope for the future. Sound familiar? :)

I don't have enough anything built up yet to vote, still run out of Steem sometimes with the little amount of activity I'm doing. I would be one of those rounded down to zero. I am not being stingy. Lol

I never felt guilty about commentibg and not voting.....I am guilty though. I did not realize the protocol was to vote with a comment. Myself, I enjoy the comments..

I like your comment as much as I can and vote when I am able motto!

My advice is comment, comment, comment! It's the best way to make friends here. You can comment without voting anytime you want to on my posts! When you do it reminds me to come take a look at your posts!

Exactly the way we should work together!

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91