Has Steemit Let Us Down? Not Upvoting, Undoing Upvotes, Decrease in Payouts

in #rant7 years ago

What the hell is going on? I'd like to point out that my first couple weeks on Steemit were much more rewarding than the last few days. And when I say rewarding, I am not talking JUST about payouts, I am talking about emotionally rewarding. But now....

Steemit debunked.jpg

Let's Start with Not Upvoting Rant

Nepotism on Steemit? Who knows, but the fact is that as people are upvoting less and less for each other unless they are ol' buddies!

And the whales who ARE receiving upvotes just for clicking "Post" are staying on the trending and hot pages. Everyday, the same few are making amounts near $1000 or more by posting just 1-3 posts a day!

There is little to no chance for a newcomer writing original content to be seen or upvoted because the algorithms are turning us into sheep!

MOREOVER, a large percenting of Steemit users who have a lot vesting power but vote very rarely! Why not spend a little time on the platform and seek out minnows making good content?

I believe more people on Steemit will be happier when we see fewer $1000 posts and more $10-$100 posts spread out among the community - otherwise we are just steemit workers who will always stay small!

Let's Move On... Un-voting? WTF

I can't even remember how I found out now because my nerves clogged up my memory channels! Goddamn - someone is going to all the posts they upvoted a few days ago and removing the upvotes -- I assume because the smell of coffee just hit their callow noses!

I woke up this morning and got on Steemit for an unexpected steemit community surprise... "You've got to be kidding, someone just UNDID an upvote from 5 days ago?!"

It wasn't that much - an upvote worth $0.03, but why did that person remove their opvote? I'm not even interested in asking, because I find that kind of behavior obnoxious. I preferred to unfollow that person and keep my small circle GENUINE.

Finally, Understanding Decrease in Payouts

This one is less of a rant and more just a little tiny steemian in our Steemit universe trying to understand how a post could lose payout value of almost 50% in less than 7 days! It's huge - over seven days!

How can one try to manage themselves when this is happening without any real indication as to why? I am new on an 18-month old platform trying to make this place my home on the net! But I need to know that there is a valid reason as to why value that was offered me by other steemians for work I'd done is lost.

In the meanwhile, Ryan and I are trying to find the rest of the payout...

Sort:  

I understand you feeling frustrated, but I think you will get better results by focusing on what YOU can do rather than blame Steem for it.

I remember my first few weeks were great, I had some really high value posts... then I stopped being a "brand new" user, so I got less support from big whales who were just egging me on basically, and my payouts went way down. It sucked. But, I kept working hard and got past the hump.

Keep in mind - almost all the whales have been here for a year, many have invested 20-40 hours per week to Steemit that whole time. Some are the witnesses who literally make this blockchain possible. You do not deserve the same rewards than them. I don't either.

It takes time to get to the top. If every single user could be on the top of the trending page within two weeks... that wouldn't even make sense!

Hmmmm, I wasn't going to respond to this but since you upvoted it to top spot trending, I'll add $0.02 (my 2 cents - sorry didn't mean to make you think you'd get an upvote).

I'll save my rants for my own blogs, but just wanted to ask if you read my post before commenting? I like to consider myself a rather smart being - I am not going to blame the bat for hitting my head, but rather the person holding the bat. In the same way, I am not blaming Steem but rather the behavior of users within new parameters.

I am quite confident that team behind are much smarter than most of us anyway and it will be worked out. If now, we'll be elsewhere like yours.org

I did read your posts - it's a good start, but nothing that deserve to reach the top of the trending page yet. Best of luck to you.

@heymattsokol I have to disagree with you. This page is quite enlightening. @debunked Great content, keep it up!!

Matter of opinion my friend! One man's trash is another man's treasure

I just hit you with 100% bro. I am noticing the same thing as you. All of my posts are at least 40% down of what I was supposed to get on them originally, and every day payouts get smaller and smaller on the new posts even though the amount of upvotes is getting higher. 🤔🤔🤔

So people like you DO exist.... "people" meaning those who know how to power their upvote :-)

Thank you, @healthyrecipe! You're very kind and engaged and I appreciate it very much

You are wellcome bro, its terrible that there is people on here that write amazing posts with tons of value that take a ton of time to make, and they get .06 for that post. I saw a fewof those the other day and it broke my heart for them. I just randowhale upvoted a few of them to pitch my little grain of sand and help. I do hope some how things get turned around, because I thought this platform was about every one having a chance, so far I see the same thing going on every where happening here. Maybe in the beggining there was equal opportunity for all but a lot of the new ones coming in seem to be having to swim up stream and against the current the whole way up.

Hey guys, I've noticed the decrease in payout as well last week and I think it has to do with steem going down in price.
Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 6.58.28 AM.png

You are right... partly. However, it only justifies about 45% of loss of value from my investigation yesterday.

I think there is more involved that can only be solved by someone able to understand the algorithms for the Steem

It's a fact in my brain that last week changed payouts and I think if someone took the effort to do a lengthy study on this first 30 days after HF19 and 30 consecutive days at random from before, there could be some learnings that will settle people's curiosity.

Maybe that's been done already but hasn't been upvoted so no one saw it

true words.. I still don't understand how it works. sometimes I work on a post for 4 hours and get 0.60 the other times I would upload few photos for 10 minutes and get 100+ , I dont get it, I made a vlog yesterday took me all day for like 6 minutes of video, its like it got no exposure

I am not so long on this platform, couple of days to be exact, so no experience of my posts getting less and less attention. Actually i don't get any attention at all :) Feels like posting into Nirvana. But i guess no matter what, people will get less and less upvotes simply because there are more and more people (like me) joining the platform.

I assume for newbies like me to be heard and seen nowadays means much more work than maybe for users who joined 1 year ago. The money-making era with everything and everyone might be over and now the real works starts. I guess now it’s about hardcore quality work and from time to time some luck. Maybe is also abou the right posting time, hashtags and keywords. No idea.

I don’t know your content and the quality of it, so i am not judging. Just assuming what i have to do to rather get some upvotes and money out of it.

It’s like back with Facebook as Instagram. As the platforms were relatively small we saw every single post from our friends/contacts. The more the platform grew, the more contacts we got, the more stuff we had to scroll through. Imagine how much time we would spend now on scrolling the news feed if the cleaning algorithm wouldn't have been implemented. Steemit is of course not FB or similar, but "More people, more content, less visibility" still counts.

I guess Steemit is growing and getting a lot of attention, getting more and more mainstream - which is a good thing.

Even if i don't like to see my few posts getting only 1 upvote and the whales with the same topic hundreds, i still think the whales deserve more attention as the people who joyined later. Afterall they were here from the beginning, promoted the plattform and made with their content worth visiting it.

I completely agree with you that it would be great if the whales would pay more attention to the newbies and give them some attention, and not only the ones they brought to the plattfrom.

thank you man I wanted to post something like this , I wanna do it even harder than this , I will compare the content and what people care about , and showing two pictures , for example a man who tried hard and did a great work had no vote but someone who just went around for holidays won more votes , or even someone can post (Sorry ) a picture of a shit and won more than those who really did great works , is this supporting ? even when I go around and ask people to follow and vote those bigger men of Steem come and call me stupid or something like that . I am not a stupid man , I am Rock N Roll !!! , sorry if I talked much , they just made me mad !!!

this reminds me of Instagram , in Instagram people love stupid posts , a musician like me need support not a guy who created a page for posting girls picture or funny videos or something like that , but people love to support cheap things. damn this life, damn this society.

I also saw someone had 500 dollar under his post , the content was : oh I have a problem in sending out my money from my wallet to another place , it was something like this , so this is content ? this is bullshit man !!! , then they tell us to work hard on our posts to do great articles , but how ? my brother wrote a great article about historical events of Persia , they gave him 10 cent , this is content and this is it's price , thank you steemians or anything they like to call themselves

Not they! US! We are all steemians - proven by the fact that you left a comment that is now steem history.

Be the change you wish to see in this world @davidfar

If this is steem history , this is what I say : Freedom ! I wanna live in a free world and talk free , without any fear from these systems . what people will say about me ? what did I do ? what was wrong about me ? I just know that people don't like to support those who really need support , they support money makers( I Mean rich people) or sometimes stupid posts like in Instagram

ok I got you . but some of us are not the same !

Yes, I am a bit annoyed, too.

In this case, I would suggest you do enough research and try to not show to much frustration through your words, but instead back up your arguments strongly. This way, people can relate instead of being shot at with negative energy.

I tried to spice up my rant with some humorous GIFs for example to get people's attention so these issues can get out there.

man this site try to become something like Facebook and it's us who help Steemit to have contents and steemit wanted to be good to pay people for their contents but this is not like this , there is a huge amount of sdb in their hands and they just giveaway small amount of it to people and I think this is not good

Oh, another thing I am noticing is people are using bots and upvoting with out any payout. They upvote and dont even pay .01 lol.

Check that person's steemd page - for example steemd.com/@healthyrecipe. Chances are, bots have overdone their voting meaning their power is less than 20% - basically any subsequent vote will be worth much less than the previous. And because it's a loser bot that don't even got legs it will just keep upvoting like the dumb crud it is no matter what the implication

Im hoping for some diversity in the top and trending posts. Its a little 'samey' even after only a short time here. It will come Im sure.

One feature I'd love is the ability to mute or block posts with particular tags.

Your suggestion is now on the blockchain @encapture. Let's hope it makes it to SteemTeam's trello board :-)

Lets hope. It would rock my Trending and Top world :)

I do not have all the answers but I hear you. I got pretty much the same questions as you, and I agree that it would be healthy for the broader audience if we could see more $10-100 posts rather then $1000-2000 post to the same whales every day.

It would also provide diversification, which seems could help solve curators and readers headaches.

Exactly! It would be good for the masses

I've only been on here a couple days but I've noticed I'm already losing money 😭 I'm glad some one else noticed!

Yup it is a little confusing (and a bit discouraging). Hopeful things will work out as it matures.

Some of the money you seem to have "lost" may just be because of the rising or falling price of Steem. Be sure to check the current price and compare with earnings before thinking it just disappeared. That way you can know how much you are actually losing as opposed to exchanged value.

I thought about that too as well. I'm just going to keep my focus on making money and not losing it 💪🏽

Great plan! I am sure you will do well

Thank you 😊 you as well!

and this is a link to your question
https://steemit.com/payout/@timcliff/everything-you-need-to-know-about-potential-payouts-and-flagging-for-new-users
but this was not good for me as I told you about people , but you said there is no they , I told you they do this to us , those who gave value to some posts

this is written in that blog : If there is $7,000 in the rewards pool for the day - then that $7,000 is split across all of the active posts based on how many upvotes/downvotes they receive. If there is a post with a pending payout of $500, then that means there is only $6,500 left to be paid to all the other posts.

then you say to me go and Research like if I was a newbie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64159.10
ETH 2771.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66