You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Auto-voting Suspended... HEAR ME RANT!

in #rant5 years ago

@dustbunny is a program run by @fraenk, for people that sign-up he sort of does what @dustsweeper does, only for both your incoming and outgoing votes. I am still in the very careful how I vote stage with the low values myself. Comment voting is very very iffy for me right now. It takes about a 60% vote value or more to be above the dust level, and like you mention, less than two cents is just like burning a two dollar bill up. A nice vote gesture, but does neither the giver nor receiver any good.

So content wise if the payout is less than $0.020 when I get around to voting, I generally give a full 100% upvote. If the post has reached a $0.020 payout already, I give a 50% vote value vote. That way I can spread my measly little vote around more. I certainly did enjoy it when the vote values were a bit higher than now, but the last 6 months have been hard on voting.

I am still cautiously optimistic about steem and that the value will return, but for now it is what it is. At least the upside is, not so many crypto charts, down side, a ton more of actifit post.

Sort:  

Thanks, I appreciate that and I really need to check into @dustbunny and @dustsweeper. I see people wasting their voting power on comments and I'd often like to mention it to them but then I risk just sounding like a spoilsport which is not my intention. I'm actually optimistic about Steem as well. It can't drop much lower, and I figure a rebound is coming soon!

Thats where @dustbunny shines, he will make it so some of those incommings wont go to waste. And if you see a comment you really like and want to vote on he will even raise your vote above the dust level as long as it is not to much of a habit. I recently upped my delegation, he is just doing it out of support for people, I think he loses on it all but he does not seem to mind putting in the time .

Then he's doing some very good work! I wasn't worried that I had missed out on a comment vote, I was pointing out the irony that the person thought I hadn't voted - when I had - and then turned around and threw away 2.5 hours worth of voting power!

Yeah, it is hard to tell someone about voting, I pretty much try not to anymore. The nice thing about the dustbunny is that it does help the clueless out. Yeah you get a small reward, dustbunny gets a small reward, but the person that voted get to have their vote count and mean something and get a reward also, while doing what they wanted to do in the first place by rewarding the commenter. I have not really come across a more altruistic vote thing other than @dustbunny.

Cool... I just made a small delegation. I don't have much, but what the heck, sounds like a good cause.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87