You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shit That's Bugging Me: Episode Two

in #rant5 years ago

One who lacks the ability to create actual content for these tribes sees that and writes the same post, as if they think internal advertising is somehow beneficial to the ecosystem and everyone will want to bend over backwards to give it a high five.

The problem is, they will bend over backwards and give those idiots a high-five. It’s not even really bending over backwards though. It seems that this is what Steem users want. It’s been happening for 3+ years.

With all of these “tribes” now, what you get is circle-jerk-ception.

“Hey, Steemians! Check out what you can do on Steem! Yeah, that’s right! You can join this little community over here! Isn’t that cool?! And when you get here, you can tell everyone in this ‘tribe’ how cool it is too!”

The morons upvote it and the poster bid bots it to the front page. Then they all blow their load in each other’s hands and pretend that they’ve spread their impotent seed some place where it actually matters.

And we’re all supposed to think that these “tribes” are better than the original chain and interfaces? At best, they’re just the same thing - cloned interfaces, cloned culture, and crypto tokens that not many people are interested in holding.

In reality though, it’s worse. It’s mostly just centralized garbage that can hardly be considered “cryptocurrencies” and it’s a system that will likely fall into legal trouble.

But what do I know? I’m almost never right. Just ignore me. I’m the idiot who asks cops to help traffic drugs. It wasn’t my fault though! He seemed nice!

Sort:  

It has been happening forever. I noticed it on my first day here and thought it was some kind of a cult. Eventually I dug a bit deeper and found actual content. It's lame, I have no problem telling people it's lame. They'll ignore it though because they're too busy trying to think up the next idea to extract tokens. Those folks and the ones who vote for that junk impede the progress of nearly all of the actual content producers and these fake ads end up doing more harm to the value of the token than good. It's always amateur hour.

When I wrote this, I was trying to show people how to write an actual ad, it would have been stupid to buy votes and put it on the trending page, all I wanted people to do was share it. I have no way of knowing if people did. I hope they did, otherwise it was a waste of time for everyone.

These tribes do have potential, I wouldn't say they're better, just an extension. People wanted a way to sort content. They wanted communities. People also want more rewards but refuse to power anything up, so there's that. They will inherit many of the same problems, that's true. Much of it always boils down to the actual users though, just like on Steemit. You don't use a hammer to cut down a tree, but some people will still try. Not many know how to use their tools to their full potential. That's life.

Everyone wanted SMTs. How will that be any different?

Everyone wanted SMTs. How will that be any different?

They'll at least be part of the consensus protocols and not subject to a centralized entity like Steem Engine. That should cut down on some of the risk. And based on what I've heard so far, they should be cheaper to create and will likely include burning of tokens. Using Steem Engine puts Steem tokens in the hands of those people running Steem Engine.

As far as their usefulness goes...I wouldn't expect them to be any different. Worthless tokens that have no utility outside of giving upvotes are still worthless.

That part I fully understand. There is risk but at the same time, it's not some mysterious unknown entity running the Steem Engine show and I don't have any reason at this point to doubt their trustworthiness. Of course I'm also not stupid and know only a friend can stab you in the back. So of course my guard is up. The airdrops come, I stake, if I lose, I'm not out anything to begin with.

I'll watch and learn. When SMTs come around, I might have a few tricks up my sleeve. For now, I see all this as a good step, progress. Many of these tokens will fail though. It takes so much more than just a few presses of a button to run a business. I'm already seeing some folks are in over their heads, and I can also see some who are on the ball.

The timing though. As we both know, and know it well: there is a severe lack of invested consumers now. The market is too small. That needs to be addressed first, which is probably why this next hardfork comes before the SMT hardfork.

It takes more than just a few presses of a button to run a business.
I like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97