Meanwhile Back At The Ranch: Brutal conditions continue.

in #ranchlife6 years ago

6DACEA64-ED5E-406D-8134-2D79D65497D9.jpeg
This update is for the weekend of the 16 of February. I have not had the inclanation to write or post since my dad passed. Getting back into it now.
We went out both Saturday and snunday to feed and check the water. Saturday our high temp both days was around 0 f. With a 15 to 20 mph wind. Saturday was spent hauling water and getting the water tank thawed. Kind of a challenge to haul water 40 miles at 0 degrees and then dump it.
CA7A38A9-9A42-498C-BE82-30EC32D2A8A6.jpeg
The tank heater had blown out in the wind so got that lit again and proceeded to dump water. We use the weed burner to warm the valve on the tank so we can dump water.
We got the heater back online and dumped dumped the water.
1E12AA18-6521-47CC-88EC-40F793EEEB06.jpeg
Overnight Saturday we had another 6 to 8 inches of snow. That combined with the wind started blowing our road closed.
I ended up stuck for about 2 hrs. Blasting through the snow drifts apparently got moisture in the throttle position censore and put my engine on low power mode. For awhile my son and I thought we might be spending the night. His truck was doing the same thing.
74524A28-A26D-4B78-980D-0722C5D1ACF7.jpeg
We could not get the skid steer to fire in the brutal cold.
We parked our outfits behind the round bales and removed the snow from under the hood.
About another hour of idling did the trick.
So we blasted our way out the ten miles to the highway.
It was quite a ride. 4AA01EFF-E438-444F-97F2-5C7FB2B0CD55.jpeg
We made it home safe. 56E4CB70-D86F-43CA-B96B-CFE2E977070C.jpeg
I did have to park my truck in the garage for 24 hrs.
To thaw it out so it would run right again.
Over the week we had to bring a calf in do to his hoods freezing.
DD0B4173-CEBF-46C3-BD9E-7CCCFF1F992D.jpeg
He looked like he was going to pull thru and then we lost him. Needless to say it was a rough weekend ramching.

Sort:  

I am truly sorry to hear about your dad.

It looks like you really had a rough weekend. We have beautiful spring days in Switzerland and there you are struggling with this horrible cold and so much snow. I hope that the weather over there will be better soon.

I am also sorry to hear about the calf. And I hope that your upcoming weekend will be much better than this one.

Have a good day!

Thanks. I do miss him. it has been a Crazy winter. Spring sounds nice! Looking like at least a couple of weeks before we see any of that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That sounds like a rough weekend. Sorry.

Yes they keep coming thanks. Can’t wait for some spring weather

Posted using Partiko iOS

My brother stop rejecting payouts, hope you are well bro take it easy. Cheer$;)

Yes doing better thanks ! I had turned off the payout when I posted my Dads obituary and forgot to change it back.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78