What if....facebook would start paying users

in #rambling6 years ago

f8-facebook-mark-zuckerberg-0112.jpg

"Facebook sucks, because they dont pay me, that is why Steemit is much better"

or similar comments are not rare, especially under younger steemians.

This is a big what if but stay with me on that, what if Facebook would pay you similar to Steemit.com?

Would you still stay here on Steemit.com?

Would you go back to Facebook?

As Mark Zuckerberg is starting to think about cryptocurrencies, which is great btw, why would he not only copy one of the rising stars of the internet like our beloved Steemit.com?

While I think it is unlikely,as I think there will be its own coin or a major coin like Litecoin to buy some funny looking glasses for your best cow in FarmVille or special emojis to send to your friends, it is not impossible that value comes back to the users.

Would you stay? If yes, why? What makes Steemit special for you? Besides the possibility to earn. Most of us dont get censored on Facebook or YouTube, at least that was not the reason I have joined here and sticked to it.

I say Facebook is still very different to Steemit but I never used Facebook from a business perspective.

I never had a fan site or anything where I cared about getting likes and followers.

Here on Steemit you basicly start with your personal fan site and the quest for upvotes and followers begins.

I am not going to deny it, I came for the money also but stayed for the community as I was pretty stoked how positiv it is/was.

When you like a little behind the curtains you see that not everything is rainbows but I would say we are still doing well.

flipstar.jpg

Sort:  

I think it is impossible for facebook to pay the user. If it work, many people will do a lot to capture the money and facebook cannot afford it or a very very low pay which is not attractive!

Then I think there might be big competition between steemit and facebook ,I think people who use fb would stay on it note than they already do

I personally think that the content of Steemit posts is more valuable, informative, uncensored and are more honest.
From the technical side are also indexed by Google.

I feel at home here. 🏡

Facebook, however, has a slightly different role. we will see what they do, but it will be big.

Bitcoin has already attracted the attention of the world so when Facebook will do the ICO, everyone will hear about it.

I think so, too.

FB and Steemit have some totally different roles for me

I think that this would not work out. Take Sola for example. They had a social media app with an existing community first and recently introduced their own coin. What happens now, is a fight of the "poor loyal users" vs. "the new rich crypto people". The current users simply don´t understand crypto and why suddenly new people have bigger influence, just because they bought in through Sola coin and are mainly there for influence, power and money. This fight will destroy the community in no time. Same with FB. Introducing a crypto coin will destabilize the current system and would be the beginning of the end for Facebook.

Yesterday i registered in Sola. I watched and liked cards. Then my action points was over. And i did not earn anything. Steem is unlimited for posting and commenting

Well, Steem actually is also limited and if you don´t have enough SP you won´t be able to do anything - it may not happen that fast though - but as I wrote, Sola is a total failure and I deleted the App after 2 days, when I saw, that their community is just at war with each other

I recently saw a war between whales on the Steemit. They considered other people's incomes is unfair, spoiled each other life. It was unpleasant to watch. But here, steemians read my posts and comments, follow me. I have a few friends in other networks

What if Facebook would just crash, burn and go away forever! ;-)

hqdefault.jpg

would not matter to me that much but would make it a bit harder to stay in contact with some friends so I hope it stays

I would stay here on Steemit. Facebook reminds me of a public bathroom, I don't like the energetic hygiene.

Cheers!!!

I'm not a big fan of Facebook the company, but as an owner of a small business I have to say it is excellent for finding new clients with their paid ads. However, I hope Steemit can increase and take away Facebook's monopoly of Social Media.

I just don't really see it happening. I think it's too late for facebook to make these changes. Even if it did happen, I think I would still stay on steemit, because the community is always going to be better. I think a lot of people come here for the money but they stay for the community! Facebook will never have that...

I would stay, oo.

I am still using facebook though but in a total different way then steemit as I communicate with friends and family through it and one cant deny for that it is pretty handy

Yes, it's good for communication, because everyone is there. But that's the only reason I still have facebook.

Ich würde hier bleiben, gefällt mir besser als FB :-)

Ja, ich auch. Aber ich weiss gar nicht ob der Vergleich so gut ist da ich persönlich Facebook und Steemit ganz uneterschiedlich nutze.

Das stimmt, der Vergleich ist recht schwer, sind schon sehr unterschiedlich die beiden Communities :-)

recently i stoped to use facebook i love steemit becouse i'm not wasting time if i stay on steemit i learn something and i earn also

Btw i Think Facebook Will not pay the users :| sadly :) cuz Mark Sucks

Keep It Up ! @flipstar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53