You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Veterans for Liberty? Not as Much as They Say.

in #ramblerant5 years ago (edited)

So blame the State, but not its enforcers. Blame the beneficiaries, not the plunderers. Simply assert that the political class knows best about who to kill, and obey their orders.

Solid philosophy.

I was in the Young Marines as a youth. Maybe it's not a military career, but I would say that gives me a higher degree of knowledge on the subject than the average Joe. I have also made considerable study of the Constitution, the federalist papers, the anti-federalist papers, economics, and philosophy compare to most. I did not arrive at my conclusions lightly.

Sort:  

Aren't you an enforcer yourself by that rationality? Complacency isn't righteous. And shit like not paying taxes isn't action. What have you, personally, done to move politics and society in a positive direction? Not challenging you, just asking a question because I frankly don't remember your earlier blogs.

He has not served like us. That is why it is difficult for him to understand why some wars must be fought.
He is more anti-government then me. Which I did not think was possible.

I think what he doesn’t get is by living in a country you are agreeing to a social contract. That contract is live by our laws and decisions of our government. If you are not happy get involved and vote in people that agree with you.
Elections have consequences.

I also would like to know what he has personally done.

I participated in politics enough to see that both parties are wholly corrupt, and 3rd parties have no chance to break through. The real enemy is the belief in the legitimacy of the system despite its abuses. My only option is to try to undermine that belief while living as free as I can. When people apologize for the state as it responds with abuse, I know war of ideas is far from won, too.

The US system with only two real parties is indeed an issue. How its acceptable that there are only two options boggles the mind.

If I were inclined to ascribe a secret conspiracy behind everything political, I would say it was planned as a participatory false choice exercise to create a veneer of legitimacy for someone's dark machinations. Unfortunately, I think the result is due to the basic effects of public choice economics and the nature of politics turning every dispute into a zero-sum game. This has divided society into two squabbling factions, and it will remain so until we stop pretending politics is a solution to any of these issues. Until then, each party will feel injured at every loss, and will be spurred on to be more fiercely combative for the next round.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47