When Mom Is Wrong, Magic Happens!

in #rainbowphotography6 years ago (edited)

My mother was a very intelligent woman. She was also a very honest woman. There are very few things she taught me that I can look back upon and say "Mom was just wrong about that."

When I was a teenager she did not give me a lot of dating advice, but she did tell me "All young men are interested in is cars and sex." I think she nailed that one.

My mother once passed on a bit of wife wisdom, a tidbit my grandmother (her mother in law) had shared with her:
"Life is a sexually transmitted disease with a 100% fatality rate."
Yep, pretty solid truth there too. She also had a great sense of humor. Perhaps a bit dark... that seems to run in the family.

She was born and raised in the east and never lived under "big skies" and so I think that may be where she got the wrong idea. Perhaps it was from someone misinterpreting the Biblical promise, but she once told me rainbows only happen in the east. I did find this on the intertubes, showing she was not the only person who held such a belief:
http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2001-06-24/news/0106240001_1_rainbow-raindrop-color

We had a little thunderstorm this morning. It makes for amazing lighting and I had a hunch I might find this if I dared to look west...

DSCF2662.JPG

No gold, but that is a tree full of ripe cherries at the end!

Ever so faint, a second rainbow was actually visible also:

DSCF2659.JPG

It is rather silly, the little habits we develop over a lifetime. It is not like my mother sat me down and gave me a rainbow lesson and everything she said was wrong. She made a passing comment once and it stuck with me. They are much more common in the east, even around here. Still every time I see one in the west I get a little nostalgic. I have this tremendous sense of love for my mother over this silly thing she was wrong about. I guess it is that little "human" thing that I find touching. You were wrong about the rainbows, Mom. That error makes every rainbow in the west feel just a little magical to me, thanks for that!

Here's hoping you find just a little magic in the mundane today!

NAMASTE!

Sort:  

I love this! Thank you for sharing your magic with us. 😊

Thanks for reading it and commenting!

HI @fishyculture, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourtie reads and I included it in my PaddlingNature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Yeah, so this actually brought tears to my eyes. made me laugh, too. Much love! 💖

❤️️You are just a sweetie lol!

Lovely rainbows, it's always good to have fond memories of parents - keeps them with us a little bit more. I'd never even thought before Rainbows would occur in any particular direction - I thought they just appeared with rain and sun!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

You had it right lol! The rainbow will be opposite the sun, and afternoon showers are more common than morning ones around here so rainbows in the east are more common. But ones in the west are obviously, possible!

I guess she preferred to think that living in the eastern states was the best part of the country. 🐓🐓

She did love the east lol!

Funny how when we grow up and realize our parents are human...they aren't diminished, they grow in stature

Indeed! As I became a parent, then grandparent, appreciation for what they did just grew and grew.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Well as a mom in her defence. You are east of somewhere. Hawaii maybe? Moms are never wrong!! If so...shhh. Hope she is not on Steemit. :)
Joy

Lol! She is over the rainbow now, its all good!

Your mother is definitely very intelligent :) Also that's a lovely rainbow! Namaste :)

"Life is a sexually transmitted disease with a 100% fatality rate."

Gotta love this one. She probably not too far off the mark on that one! Been rainy since last night. More drizzle this morning...If I didn't have work to do, I would probably just curl up with a cup of tea and read a good book...

Moms are not like the pope and infallible... I wonder who that that one up? LOL

The other advice handed from my grandma to mom to me is even better...
You know what a housewife is? A handy gadget you screw on the bed and it does all the housework...
LOL!

LOL! Love that one too! Would have loved being a fly on your grandma's wall!

LOL! Love that one too!
Would have loved being a fly
On your grandma's wall!

                 - cecicastor


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67916.87
ETH 3819.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67