---- Copes Pirate Radio – The After Party - Discussing Mental illness ----

in #radio6 years ago (edited)


The After Party

So after the horrendous train wreck that was the last “Cope’s Aussie Music Pirate Session” it felt as though there was no coming back from such a tragedy , but rising like a phoenix from the ashes was the Cope’s Aussie Music Pirate Session After Party. Once the Pirate session had finished there was a small group of Steemians who had braved the ear bleeding show to see if things would get better…. And get better it did 😊

After some back and forth with the audience in the chat space we decided to show a track I recorded last week as part of my rehearsal for an open mic entry im hoping to put together sometime in the near future. This exploded into a fun fest of steemian music and great chat. We also speckled the play list with some other music but the meat of the show was the steemians musical performances and chat. Many thanks to @amberyooper , @phedizzle and @rockchickjen for putting their tracks forward to be played, it was kinda feeling like I was holding everyone hostage with my tracks and feeling a bit weird for me, lolz. I felt much more at ease once we were all sharing tracks 😊

In the chat space we discussed some of the difficulties of being in the music biz at any level, from personal motivation, reliable/unreliable band members, creative differences between band members, among other fun facts. @rockchickjen joined us on the air for a chat about her tracks being played, the origin stories of what inspired the tracks creation, This discourse and dissection of the songs and their meanings led to numerous discussions spanning various deep topics.

We discussed the need for spaces to facilitate healthy conversations, reducing the stigma associated with mental health via empathy compassion and understanding. The ability to able to openly talk about ones feelings is scientifically supported as having a positive impact on mental illness, suicide and suicide ideation. These kinds of safe spaces to openly communicate play an integral part in the fight to intervene when times get dark and these kinds of thoughts start to creep in. Spreading the message via open discussion and through various aids such as art, music etc. can also assist in a greater understanding by those not impacted by mental illness.

This was followed with some chat about bullying in schools, which is very closely associated with the development of mental illness, and the complacency of those who are supposed to be looking after our children. When we observe the current situation we state that “bullying is unacceptable” but in the ace of it, when it happens, those that are supposed to be assisting in intervening when bullying occurs do not take the correct action required. There were anecdotal examples put forward which supported the concepts being discussed.

These are a few of the more prominent of the many topics we discussed throughout the evening. If you are feeling overwhelmed by any part of your life please reach out to someone you know and trust or some of the many services available to assist in dealing with mental illness and suicidal thoughts and ideation. A quick internet search will bring up programs in your local area that can help. There are also communities on discord such as @nathankaye ‘s Prevent Sucide and @zipporah ‘s The Kindness Collective that have been established to assist those in need of support.... you are not alone. These networks are also set up to assist those who have a loved one dealing with mental illness. For those who have not been impacted by mental illness in their lives , themselves or loved ones, please understand that mental illness does not always present itself in a clear manner such as with physical ailments. please try to remember to be kind as frequently as possible, we don't always know what others are going through.

These are the kinds of conversations and interactions I live for on this platform, openly being able to discuss these kinds of topics, our feelings about them and sharing a part of ourselves. in this way we are able to gain a greater understanding of ourselves through the experiences of others. To use empathy, compassion and understanding to connect with others on a fundamental level of acceptance bringing us all just that little bit closer together.

I would again like to thank everyone who stuck around to listen in, interacted in the chat space, shared their thoughts and feelings, shared their music and their time with us. Much love in all your directions.


The playlist below is not in order of play as I was not expecting the evening to go as it did, as such they have been grouped by artist.

Playlist

Amber – My Silent Scream
Amber – Love In My Heart
Cope - Cover – The Fray – You Found Me
Cope - Cover – Foo Fighters – Wheels
Cope and miles – Absent
Cope and miles – Waiting For You
Cope and miles – Cover – Rob Thomas – Her Diamonds
Cope and miles – Cover – Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Breaking The Girl
Cope and miles – Cover – The Godfather Theme
Phelyne - Official Sensual Santa Remix
Rock Chick Jen – Billys Song
Rock Chick Jen – Don’t Sway
Rock Chick Jen – Cover - Seether – Tied My Hands
Rock Chick Jen – My Wings

Sort:  

It was definitely a good pirate session! I enjoyed it a lot.

thanks for being part of the experience and your musical contributions for the evening @amberyooper :) much love

Very much enjoyed what I heard.. and your cover of "You Found Me" was such a thing of beauty. Amazing. ♥

Thank you so much for the love and support @paintingangels , im glad you enjoyed the show, big hugs and much love in your direction :)

An amazing night of great music and deep conversation! I really enjoyed talking with you all! And @mfxae86 your music really is awesome! Don't be so hard on yourself! ;)

much love @rockchickjen , we definitely had ourselves a time ;) thanks again for being part of it, your musical contributions and jumping on air for a chat.

Ah, im only hard on myself because im not as good as i used to be, but im getting better with practice.... just need some more time and a little luck :)

I hear that one... I need to practice my guitar playing a lot more than I do... haha! But you truly do have an amazing voice and great talents! If you are that good without practice, then I can't wait to hear you all practiced up! ;)

As they say practice makes perfect :) Ah, im just hella rusty, i had an injury a while back that put me out of action... well i basically gave up trying as i was starting from scratch again. My frustration comes from not being able to do what i used to do, not that i was some brilliant musician or anything, i was just happy with what i could do. but with some encouragement from the community here i have been trying to get back into it.

I totally understand the frustration... I also had a similar thing happen only it wasn't an injury, just an unexpected side effect of an implant that is supposed to help my seizures. It screws with my vocal chords and I basically had to relearn how to sing. And even though at first I thought my singing days were over, I just kept practicing and I'm actually happier with my voice now. It changed it quite a bit, and is still a pain to deal with, but I really enjoy singing so I did what I had to do. I also feel that I learned new things I wouldn't have even bothered learning back then so that's a plus! It's weird how things seem to happen for a reason.

Yeah that kinda thing can be hard to come back from, have to accept the limitations and work with it. For me i thought i was too much to go through with the rest of the rehab and stuff and so left my music as something in my past. Good to hear you managed to wrestle that monster to the ground and dominate it :)

Right! Sometimes you have to put certain things on the back burner to focus on the most important things. But that doesn't mean that you can't go back once you are healed and start it up again! ;) Sometimes it feels frustrating to do it that way, but if it's important to you, I suppose you'll find a way! Haha!

I hear that one... I need to practice my guitar playing a lot more than I do... haha! But you truly do have an amazing voice and great talents! If you are that good without practice, then I can't wait to hear you all practiced up! ;)

I’m sorry that I was out and about with the girls and then my iPhone wouldn’t play ball with discord and it just ceased to play the music you were sharing mid song!
It didn’t sound like a train wreck then so it couldn’t have been that bad after I couldn’t tune in anymore.

Anyway, I’m really happy that the conversation went onto this subject. As you know I’m very much on a mission with helping people love the life they live and so many of my songs are about this very subject. In fact, I’d dedicated a whole album to raise funds and awareness about depression and suicide.
So it relieves me when I hear others bringing up this taboo subject.
Thanks bro.
Blessings mate

PS. Thank you so much for mentioning @preventsuicide

all good, well lets just say that peeps aint that into Sneaky Sound System and the disco/dance/pop-ish/mainstream kinda tracks i played on the main show while tryna display some other sides to the Aussie music industry beyond rock, lolz. But the after party was way more fun and rich in content, spinning some home grown steemian tracks and def got deep into the convos about the human condition. yeah no worries mate, always down for promoting good projects, meaningful posts and mates doing great work on the platform and you fall into all them categories ;) much love mang

cuddle_bodypillow.png

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Cope (mfxae86) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Yarrrrghhhhhhh! What's this, i hear: did somebody say #PIRATERADIO? Let it be known, both FAR & WIDE, we're ALWAYS looking for new #network #sponsors and #affiliates :) https://www.wprpn.com/faqs/

i love pirate, pirate all the time!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69