Billy's Song, original acoustic song by Rock Chick Jen!

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

billy.jpg


Back in 2004, I was just starting to get serious about playing guitar and had only learned a few covers when a huge life event inspired me to write my first song. Throughout my childhood, growing up in a small town in Northern Texas, my uncle on my mothers side was always moving in and out with us. Needless to say, he was the second most important influence in my life (my father being the first) and he taught me so much about music. He had a CD changer that held so many albums, that I had most of the music from that time and before at my finger tips. Unfortunately in 2004, while I was living in Missouri with my father, he committed suicide. This had a huge impact on my life because it hit me so hard and left me broken on the inside. With a new found love of playing the guitar, I figured the best way to release the emotion was through writing. And this song is the outcome. I hope you enjoy and remember to think of the mental health of those you love. Better to ask someone if they're fine, then to just assume that they are or that they will come to you for help. Mental illness is a silent killer and can sneak up on the ones affected.

Picture from pixabay.com and edited by me!

Thanks for looking and hope to see you again soon!
Ask me how to join the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord!

blog_collage.jpg


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26