You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Racism In The Present And The Past

in #racism6 years ago

Not only am I out of my family's influence, I am 180 degrees from their way of thinking, and have been for a long time. But I still come to the realization at times that I'm still progressing in ridding myself of the memories of those vignettes from growing up in a racist home, from my mind. I know from experience that the kind of indoctrination to racism that happens in the type of family in which I was raised, is very hard to escape. That's not to imply that someone raised the way I was, should receive empathetic consideration for their racist views, (if they still have them), as not being their fault, or that they never knew better. A racist is a racist, and it's a very bad thing to be. Likewise, I claim no credit or reward for becoming aware that there's only one race in humanity. In my case, it was just continuing to grow up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64019.81
ETH 2644.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84