You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Racism In The Present And The Past

in #racism6 years ago

I was born and raised by a family that was racist against black people, which included extended family. I feel that I was blessed, and lucky that I was able to escape that trap, and to not hand it down to then entrap my own children.

Families like mine have lessened in number as civil rights for all has taken hold, but they do still exist, and it's more likely than not that most of their children will carry it on and hand it down to their spawn.

Eventually it will end completely, when we all are intelligent enough to know better.

Sort:  

I'm glad you've been out of your family's influence, raising with racist thoughts makes you a selfish and irrational person who does not love your own race, we're not guilty of being born into an African-American family, only God knows what it does and because he did not put in this life.

Not only am I out of my family's influence, I am 180 degrees from their way of thinking, and have been for a long time. But I still come to the realization at times that I'm still progressing in ridding myself of the memories of those vignettes from growing up in a racist home, from my mind. I know from experience that the kind of indoctrination to racism that happens in the type of family in which I was raised, is very hard to escape. That's not to imply that someone raised the way I was, should receive empathetic consideration for their racist views, (if they still have them), as not being their fault, or that they never knew better. A racist is a racist, and it's a very bad thing to be. Likewise, I claim no credit or reward for becoming aware that there's only one race in humanity. In my case, it was just continuing to grow up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58