Canadian Ice Racing adventures with Ed. Having a blast in a very cheap car.

in #racing6 years ago

20180212_214400.jpg

There comes a time in every young man's life when you can finally live out your car racing dreams. Never had these thoughts? Turn in your man card immediatly or at the very least go to your wallet now and transfer me 1SBD to help redeem yourself.
This adventure last year was sort of a come back for me because I thought my racing days were over years ago. I had retired old blue #42(another Civic) when I started my family life and the last I heard it was destroyed on the circle track-another post for another time.
Anyway last year we pulled this 'left for dead' 1990 Honda Civic out of a field, slapped on some bolted tires and went racing again. The race was on a frozen pond in a farmers field in above freezing temps. The conditions were terrible, we had to drive through deep mud to get onto the melting ice.

20170218_134552.jpg

We(3 different drivers)had so much fun with this machine. Of all the vehicles out that day the only one we couldnt get around in our Honda was a 4x4 V6 Ford Explorer. I need to figure out how to put videos up I guess now don't I?


Left to rest after last years event behind my work place someone smashed the window in order to pop open the fuel door. They didn't get anything because there is still half a tank in it. Only now I need to find a replacement window.

20180210_161136.jpg

Despite not being called upon for duty in a whole year this amazing machine sparked right up on 3 cylinders(someone ripped a spark plug wire off the engine also) and drove into the shop to get it race ready again.

20180209_083342.jpg

Being a stacker/prepper I of course have spare car parts laying around! Did I mention I've had about 30 of these great Civic's?

20180210_143652.jpg

20180210_143753.jpg

Now we have until Saturday to get this unit back into race shape-and maybe try to squeeze some more speed out of it somehow. Tune into my next blog to see how it turns out!

Oh I almost forgot, these are the tires we'll be using.

20180212_214425.jpg

As always all photos are taken with my dirty old Samsung Galaxy S6.
Your friendly neighborhood automotive service technician @edthecanadian

DQmZ3MaPcmTgfe9awXtYfyRHsBQkZknPWK413TFNoNLarTn_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Whoa!

How were those tires made?

You just put bolts in from the inside. Thats it! No secret really. No tubes or sealant needed, we did use sealant in the past but not anymore unless there is a leak.

Your pic's almost good enough to form the base of a meme. Just clean the bolts...

Hold my beer, I want a ride!

Come on up man we have a passenger seat in the car.

I can't wait to see your next post on this

Looking forward to seeing the results of this man,looks like alot of fun.

Loved those spiky tires! rock n roll winter!!!!! LOL

Well I was very interested when I saw that Steem silver round on the spiked tyres, this is so amazing. I'm a big motorsport fan - although I don't actually partake myself I have been to many rally stages and also track race events. Those are some proper beefy tyres, I can't wait to see this in action - videos especially would be really cool.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Yeah videos, I need to figure that out.

Hoooly hell look at these tires. Imagine if this is gonna run over your toes acidentally, it happens sometimes :D. Ouch

I've ripped open my share of pants and coveralls on these bolts.

Sweeeet! Can't wait for updates! 👍😎

Wow, I really want to do this now. Looks like sooo much fun!

Come on out and bring your car. 🚗

Haha, sure would be fun to try. I grew up in a rural area where parking lots would freeze over and we’d go spin cookies there in the winter, not quite as awesome, but that’s as close as I’ve gotten. One day!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51