GTO Muurica Adventures: "Friday Night Drags"

in #racing7 years ago (edited)

20170630_204150.jpg

Last night I headed out to the local 1/8th mile track here in San Diego. I got to hangout with some friend's and see how much the scene has grown/changed. Not to mention, any excuse to spend one on one QT with the GTO is a good excuse !

I didn't run the car unfortunately, it wouldn't pass tech and I still have some bugs to work out of it. However, I will say that I could DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY use more power and tire...mostly power. A similar GTO to mine with a heads,cam,intake LS2 ran consistent 8.1,8.2 which isn't bad for the 1/8th.

20170630_210738.jpg

I'd like to see my personal car run a 7.20/7.30 before I leave San Diego,but we'll see. Most noteable cars are a few HellCats, 2015 GTR, 17 CTS-V, as well as multiple GT500's, Charger 392's, 16 Mustang S550's, and one wicked ProCharged 4th Gen Camaro SS.

20170630_210436.jpg

For the most part it was a slow night, but the weather was good and the track was good ( Well as good as it could be for being a parkinglot).

The highlight of the night for me was on the way home. I ran into an older STI and a HellCat leaving the track, going the same direction I was. Needless to say, IMMEDIATELY after the hit it looked like I was standing still. I don't think I have been yanked by a car so hard in my life....so serious. Needless to say,expect bif changes for the GTO in the near future.

Hopefully I can lay some times down my own the next time around.

As always, stay tuned !

Sort:  

Hi! Good post, I like the same meetings. Looks like you got understanding. Can I ask you to make a post? LS vs UZ wich wone us better and why? I hear LS is better. Follow you, follow me too, I writing about my experience with restorating and tunin of japanese cars. But volume of my engines little more then milk pack))))

Sure no problem and thanks for commenting. I know a little about the 1UZFE I believe it is. There was a guy on the Supra forum's year's ago who built a 1000hp twin turbo engine with one as a base. Crazy build that later sold on Ebay.

Never saw turbo uz)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49