My Entry to "Qurator2018 Membership Contest"

in #qurator20186 years ago

537073_10200465867942192_639821569_n.jpg

Hello Qurator Moderators - I have never mentioned this to anyone until just now, but it has always been my Life Long Dream to become a Qurator Member! Well maybe not life long, but for as long as I have been on Steemit! Well maybe not quite that long either... It has been at the top of my list at least since I first read about it via @goldendawne. You see, @goldendawne has been very much an inspiration and a bit of a mentor to me since joining this wonderful community some 3 weeks ago. When first signing up for Steemit, I was not sure exactly where I wanted to go with it. As is states in my Introduction Post "I am a homesteader whose interests span from the sea to the stars." So what should one with such an expansive interest base blog about? I soon found out that people on here are interested in hearing about my life and what I know. Being raised by "hippie parents" on a "hippie island" I know about homesteading, gardening and conservation. As an adult, after schooling and world travels, I moved back to the island that I was raised on. Here I live on 7.5 acres. My dream is to raise 80% of the food my family and I eat. I would also like to build a free community garden for those who do not have the space to grow their own food. While I certainly wish that I had documented my projects to date, I still have years and years of projects lined up that I will document in detail and post to Steemit and the Homesteading community.

I am human like most and as a human I am motivated by reward. On a homestead, the reward of a completed project and the satisfaction one gets from it is more than enough to keep me going. On a platform like Steemit, the number of upvotes and the amount of monetary rewards one gets is a major motivating factor. There certainly is a sense of fellowship that one gets when finding a great niche as we have found in the homesteading community. This can also keep one coming back but sometimes it is not enough. This is where @qurator comes into play. Without proper support and exposure the numbers are stacked against us "minnows" to be discovered and therefor reward for our work is not guaranteed. From what I have read, I believe that Qurator can help its members increase their exposure and therefor up the chances of being noticed. I have big plans for this blog and will continue to do the hard ground work to build up my following but I am also never above asking for help when it is available. So please help me achieve my "Life Long Dream" ;) haha of becoming a Qurator member by voting for my admission.

Your friend in homesteading adventure @jonpetrich

Sort:  

You can do it Jon! : )

best of luck, friend!

I also really enjoy looking for quality content and commenting on it and supporting those people! Maybe this is something I should look into too, but I already am able to support people pretty good as it is now. Giving economy to the moon!

Ill support you for sure! I dont really know about voting for it though?

AWESOME!!! And thank you!
I have been mentoring a few homesteaders that are new to steemit and HAVE BEEN loving it! This is my way of extending the proverbial pay it forward as I want others that share my passion of the homestead and steemit to succeed!

Great entry!

Good luck to you jonpetrich. I am sure you would serve your community well. 🐓🐓

I would feel feel over-the-top-blessed to have enough land to start a community garden!
I’ll be on the lookout for projects you post about!
Happy New Year and good luck in the contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64255.05
ETH 3499.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50