Tasty Tuesday #77 | Spaghetti with Meatballs

in #qurator5 years ago

It's been quite some time since I last posted a recipe on my blog. I've been busy trying out new stuff. I've tried painting, been tinkering with my smartphone's camera trying to get that smoke shot, I've completed my granny squares bag and right now, I'm working on my neice's 7th birthday backdrop. I've been busy but I still cook everyday. I've made some experiments in the kitchen as well, will share them once I get the chance.

For now, let me tell you about another dish that I cooked for the first time. Spaghetti with meatballs.

I have always been a regular Filipina all my life and being a boring, regular pinay, one of my favorites is the Pinoy style spaghetti. I actually call it "spagetting kanto". This is a common menu on food carts back in the day. Pinoy style spag has a sweet, tangy taste owing to banana catsup being added to the sauce.

But my husband wanted to try the non-pinoy style spaghetti. And since I haven't really eaten spaghetti with meatballs all my life, I cooked one for us.

Ingredients:

Pasta
1/4 kgGround beef
1 pc grated carrots
grated cheese
minced onions
minced garlic
egg
1 can whole tomato
tomato paste
2-3 cups water
bayleaf
oil for frying
salt and pepper

Procedure

Cook the pasta according to the instructions in the wrapper. I cooked mine for around 10 minutes. Drain and place in the fridge to let cool.

To make the meatballs, mix ground beef, grated carrots, grated cheese, onions, garlic, egg, salt, and pepper. Scoop a tablespoon or two, depending on how big you want the meatballs to be. Roll it in your hands to form a ball. Then in. pan, heat oil. Fry the meatballs until they're golden brown. Drain excess oil in pper towels. Set aside.

For the sauce, sautee onion and garlic over medium heat. Add the tomatoes. Then add the tomato paste, bayleaf, salt, and pepper. Then add water. Let it simmer for a while or until the sauce slightly thickens. Add the meatballs. Mix gently. Summer for a couple more minutes until the meatballs are fullt incorporated in the sauce.

Blanch the pasta on warm water before serving. Add sauce on the pasta, top with grated parmesan cheese. Add pepper as you desire.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This makes me hungry at the middle of the night.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71