How do I succeed in making 'Potato Wedges' at first try? || Here's the recipe!

in #qurator5 years ago

Potato Wedges, huuuum...It's one of my favorite side dishes in the restaurant. But I never tried it at home. As rice is our base meal so I never actually thought to make some.

Yesterday, my son was asking for some french fries and I was out of any ready-made frozen one. So, I thought why don't I try making some potato wedges for him. I know that it's easier to prepare and need less time than french fries. I was not actually sure how better I can do. But I just go through a YouTube video and made my own!

20191027_202851.jpg
So, here is the final result!

Now, I'm sharing my recipe strait away.

What we need:

Large potato- 2 piece
Salt
Peeper/ Dried chili/ Chili flakes
Chili power
Baking Soda
Cornflower

*Pill the potatoes and slice them.

20191027_200846.jpg

Put them in the freezer to chill for one hour. If you don't have that much time (like me ;), put them in ice-cold water for half an hour.

20191027_200818.jpg

20191027_202004.jpg

Boil them for a few minutes. And then let it cool for a few minutes.

20191027_201022.jpg

I used this type of chili to make chili flacks. You can use paprika or chili powder instead.

Making the seasoning

20191027_200853.jpg

Put some chili flacks, a pinch of chili powder, salt, one teaspoon of baking soda and some cornflower at once. Put some cold water and mix it well. Don't make it too thick or thin. Just normal.

20191027_202117.jpg

Put the potato slices in the seasoning and mix it well. But careful as they are boiled so they may break easily.

Heat the pan with vegetable oil and put the potato slices into it.

20191027_202258.jpg

Keep the fire of the oven in medium and fry for a minute or two.

20191027_202934.jpg

And, you are ready to eat it. Serve it with salad and sauce. That's it. You are done.

This is the lazy and easy potato wedges recipe. I hope you like it.

The two things I have learned very important, making this recipe. One, 'chilling the potato' in the cold water and freezer is very important. And second, the amount of baking soda. Just put a little bit to make it crunchy, don't overdo it. Otherwise, it's gonna give you a wired bitter taste.

I hope you enjoy my recipe. If you are like mine and still didn't try it at home. You can try it now. It's super easy and tasty.

This is my entry to the Qurator's Tasty Tuesday #101 contest. You can find the detail Here if you are interested to share your food photography or recipe.

THANKS FOR READING

Much Love

text16.png

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter Facebook Discord

Sort:  

I love this and it's getting my vote because it's something that I can actually use in my life.

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

Oh man, nice recipe. We grow our own potatoes and have lots of them in our cold storage, so I will give your flavors on my spuds a try.
Enjoy!

That would be great. Share your own recipe with us too. Thanks 😊



Hey @rem-steem, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Thanks for the beer!

I've never tried to make this kind potato wedges😉 because I like potato chips and the only way to make quite crunchy just by wash it till the water clear 😉 how did it go for your son? Did he likes the spicy wedges?

I actually made this less spicy. The chili flakes looks spicy but this type of chili is actually are not that hot.
He didn't love it as french fries but eat it. I'm happy with that. 😊😊

Looks delicious to me! I love potatoes in all forms, but especially wedges like this. I could definitely make a meal out of them. :)

That would be great I guess. Thanks 😊

Ohhhh.. . I normally make chips in the oven... but these potato wedges look pretty decent! I will have to try these out as well!

Try it, you will love it.
Thanks 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @rem-steem!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.085 which ranks you at #10411 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 95 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@qurator and #fff in the same meal, two of my favorite entrees. Great entry, chef, thanks for throwing down with us.

I’m not even making this up. My wife and I were just talking about, like less than 30 minutes ago, about how she is going to cut back on sugar... again. She’s such a dessert junky.

She said she wishes her desserts could be like mine because my idea of cookies, or cakes, etc. is a plate of baked potato wedges—true story. I’ve never, even as a kid, been into dessert but I eat potatoes probably 5x/week and could go for two more.

Good luck in round #68—welcome to @foodfightfriday.

Awe, we have something similar stories but totally opposite. My husband love sweet but as it's not that healthy so he is also looking for some attractive alternatives.
Potato is a good meal for sure. We usually eat curry and rice. And potato is a good going with curries.
Thanks for the warm welcome. 😊😊

That should've said #69, I know you knew that, I think my thumbs for a little excited with all of the yummy starchy talk.

But now I feel like I’m typing to a mirror because curry and rice is definitely in my top 5! Nice to be met, @rem-steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44