Updates on Qustodian - Parameter changes

in #qurator6 years ago

Greeting Steemians!

Qustodian here, just some updates on how the bot needs some changes.

Summary

For those that want to skip the wall of text.

  • The multiplier will reduce from 2.65 to 2.35.
  • The votebank will decrease in size if Qustodian has excessively low voting power

The multiplier

I have been struggling to repay the lease, when I took it out initially the SBD to STEEM rate was 0.8 SBD per STEEM. Times have changed and currently it 1.5 SBD per STEEM a month later.

In my projections I calculated I would be able to repay the lease if the rate at most was 1.3 SBD to STEEM. Clearly I underestimated the volatility, live and learn they say.

Unfortunately the money needs to come from somewhere and this additional 15% strain forces me to reduce the multiplier from 2.65 to 2.35. Believe me I dislike this as much as you do, but prices force me into this position. The good news is that the vote calculation algorithm is slightly off and actually will provide an upvote around 2.4 even though all calcs state 2.35. This is clearly on me and in future I will try smaller leases with higher SBD to STEEM ratios.

I need to do this now as I have been carrying some of the costs of the lease myself by not taking anything for servers etc.

The votebank

Generally the votebank works that you can store up votes for a very large one time vote, but people have been doing this a bit excessively and the VP (voting power) is around 45%. This is really unfair to delegators. To understand why look at this example,

You want a 1 SBD upvote. At 80% VP this upvote can be achieved with 30% weight, at 40% this upvote needs a 60% weight. VP recharges at the same rate whether you are at 80% or 40% (you still get 20% a day). This makes upvotes at very low VP very expensive mostly the time when the big upvotes pop up. This expense is not fair to delegators.

I am trying to find a middle ground so I am changing the votebank so that its max reduces significantly on low VP, but if VP recovers I am going to make it more generous. Or in two pics,

High VP:

Source
Low VP:

Source

If there are other suggestions please drop them in comments below. For now I have implemented this until a better proposal is tabled.

Sorry for the changes, I expected a lot of the market conditions would happen, but a month is too quick to a react the huge SBD devaluation. This is all on me and I am sorry.

kind regards,
Qustodian

Sort:  

Wish I could do more to help, besides keeping my fingers crossed for all of us that the price of Steem goes back up! tip!

Hi @qustodian! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: City Sights Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68790.22
ETH 3865.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63