Working On My Photojournalistic Portfolio - Photo Friday Entry

in #qurator6 years ago

Hello, people of the world!

Today I am showing another type of work than what I usually share with you. I don't mean I haven't shown serious stuff before but those are especially... well those occasions often made me sad while I was documenting them.

I decided to share a part of a portfolio I was selecting today - moments of my photojournalistic work. Some of those are old, some are more recent.

All of them are from protests.

One of the sad things is, no matter which government ruled at the certain time, they were all the same and the protests were all against them. Against corruption and laws trying to pass without trace, enabling certain individuals who would like to grab some more of the national property, etc. Same as everywhere else, I guess. Those are all from Sofia, Bulgaria. Very small or fake media coverage. Worse recently. And that is not because my colleagues working in the field did not try their best.

Save_Pirin_ph031_s.jpg
Pipers joining the cause during a march against violations and practically legalizing violations in protected territories, the one in focus being Pirin Mountain.

Save_Pirin_ph018_s.jpg
Same occasion but earlier.

Save_Pirin_ph006_s.jpg
And the night before. National values being associated with places of historical and cultural significance. The main dispute is do investors benefit the area they overbuild at or do they only drain national resources or laundry their other money.

Save_Pirin_ph004_s.jpg
The little teddy bear says it has enough ski tracks but not enough pine woods to rest from skiing.

Save_Pirin_ph037_s_BW.jpg
Generally protesting. I like the concept. I've shown part of this photo in a post about the crowds before.

nor_24j_07_s.jpg
Another general protest about another government in a moment it tried taking too much.

nor_23j_08_s.jpg
Part of the same series of protests but on the previous night.

Е10_ss.jpg
Back in time when others wanted the same - to allow certain mayors to cut down some more national park forests so that new hotels may stay empty and laundry some more money, eventually.

Е11_ss.jpg
Same series.

Е2_ss.jpg
Miners and other syndicate members protesting against a law that would force them to work more years before retirement.

Е3_ss.jpg
College students from the acting academy burying culture and stuff. What else do you do with culture, you can't eat it, right?

Well, I may have been a bit harsh. Sorry about that. But I also want to point out that those and other protests usually had some effects. A minister being fired here and there so that another would take the place. A law being cancelled here and there. For now... Stuff like that. But the more resistance, the better the results. And resistance feels scarce around here.

Well, those were some photos with and for history. I hope. Maybe future, too. I double hope.

Also, this is an entry to @qurator's competition called Photo Friday. Go check it out if you're into photography and competitions.

Good luck!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Powerful images of people standing up for their rights, greed in every corner of the world @manoldonchev

Well presented explaining why people stand together, very moving photography.

Oh, first organic interaction with the post! Welcome!

And thank you for the nice words! I know it's every corner of the world kind of matter. I just want to share some of the things that sometimes stir things up.

Awesome moments captured in time.

Right? The more time passes, the more captured they remain :P I mean, thank you.

Hello @manoldonchev, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61