Qurator's Monday Mission Entry - My 2020 Expectations

in #qurator5 years ago

2020, a year with a fresh start. The Department of Veteran Affairs has just extended our veterans’ benefit. I can go back on base again for medical and even for shopping. It is a good news at the first day of January.

There are several goals I wish I can start/continue this year, and hopefully I will achieve them before the last day of December.

Build more software for the people of Colorado

I got out military in 2009. A bad time to determinate a job without a backup plan. I thought I had plenty time to find a new career when I had walked out the gate of Fort Carson with two months of terminal leave. No. One year and two months, I live on GI bill. By March of 2010, I was desperate and would take any manual labor job out there, and I landed one back on base.

Things finally turned around. An adjunct professor saw something in me and brought me into the company he worked for daytime.

I believed that it was my duty to help others ever since. I have helped several battle buddies when they got out. It was a small, individual effort until 2019.

Ten years later in 2019, I was an IT program manager, who runs an auxiliary service under College of Engineering and Applied Science of University of Colorado Colorado Springs. The city of Colorado Springs funded us to build an online tool that helps job seekers, employers and students to identify workforce-related resources easily without the region. Not too long after, another non-profit organization, the Pikes Peak Business & Education Alliance have required us to create another online program that brings K-12 schools and business partners together with talent and work-based learning opportunities.

These two projects finally gave me a chance to assist more people with their career struggles. Both projects were success and moved to phase II in 2020. Phase II involves more system features and better UI/UX. With the new funding and better job opportunity forecast, I hope to continue my effort and skill set to more people in my home state.

Lose Weight

Due to my injuries during my military career, I can no longer participate intense exercises. Body fat has piled up onto my body.

I had been diagnosed with gout in my left foot. It is time for me to lose some weight. I need to find a healthy way without running or any exercises that would impact knees and ankles. Stop sitting in front of the computer could be the first start.

Expand my experience with Blockchain/Cryptocurrency

https://steemd.com/@lnakuma says I am 69 days old today. I am a newb of the world of blockchain and cryptocurrency.

I was honored to be granted a few awards from Qurator’s contests in 2019, and plan on keeping doing what I have done.

I also want to learn more about cryptocurrencies from STEEM blockchain and other systems. I believe cryptocurrencies is the next generation of our fiat money, and I want to be part of this world changing event.

Give myself time off

Since 2018, I have not taken any vacations until last December in 2019. Though I had many interesting projects and tasks. I was burnout. A cruise line vacation to the Bahamas in December was a long-waited break away I wanted, and now I am refreshed.

However, I don’t want to push myself to exhaustion again. My productivity was extremely low at the end of last year, and the state of my emotion is at the worst since my jobless days in 2009. Besides I don’t want to lose another 40 hours of vacation leave again.

Treat myself more time off.

I believe, in overall, I will accomplish more in 2020 while keeping my life in balance. Hopefully better mood, better health, and no World War III.


二零二零年,又是一个崭新的开始。一月一日退伍军人事务部刚刚扩大了退伍军人的福利。我再次可以回到军营中看病,甚至购物。

在新的一年中,我希望可以开始/继续几个心中的目标,并希望在十二月的最后一天之前能将它们实现这

为科罗拉多州的人民开发出更好的软件

在没有确定一份工作情况下,我于2009年退伍。由于经济的原因,当时很难找到工作。当是我以为在积累的两个月的假期里,我有足够的时间找到新的工作。事与愿违。整整一年零两个月过去了,我靠着军人权力法案中的助学金生活。到了二零一零年三月,我已经绝望了,即便重体力劳动的工作我也愿意去干。那时候我在军营中找到了一个买坦克的工作。

命运终于好转了些。一位学校里的兼职教授似乎看到了我身上的什么有点,把我介绍给他工作的公司。

从那天起,我暗下决心,一定要帮助其他没有工作的人。在陆续的日子里,我尽我自己所能帮助了几个原来部队里的伙伴。但是,一直都只能帮一些小忙。

十年后的二零一九年,我成为了一名IT程序管理经理,在科罗拉多大学科罗拉多斯普林斯分校的工程与应用科学学院负责一个三产服务公司。科罗拉多斯普林斯市出资让我们建立了一个网络工具,该工具可以帮助求职者,雇主和学生在本地区的寻找与劳动力相关的资源。不久之后,另一个非营利组织派“克峰商业与教育联盟”也要求我们创建另一个在线系统,这个系统能够将K-12学校青少年人才和商业合作伙伴能够提供的工作学习机会结合在一起。

老天终于给予我帮助更多的为了职业打拼的人的机会。这两个项目均取得了成功,并于二零二零年进入开发的第二阶段。第二阶段涉及更多的系统功能和更完善的UI / UX。新的一年有了新的资金投入,并有着更好的就业机会预测,我希望继续努力,为更多家乡的人们提供更便利的工具。

减肥

由于在部队生涯中的伤病,我再也无法进行剧烈运动。身体上堆积无数脂肪。

去年,我被诊断出得了痛风。看来是我减肥的时候了。我需要找到一种健康的方法,不需要跑步或着影响膝盖和脚踝的锻炼方法。感觉先从不长时间在电脑前坐开始。

增长区块链/加密货币的经验

https://steemd.com/@lnakuma说我今天是在STEEM上的第69天。我完完全全是区块链和加密货币世界的新手。

很荣幸我能在2019年 Qurator的竞赛中获得一些奖项,我计划坚持下去,继续参加各种竞赛。

我还想从STEEM区块链和其他系统中了解有关加密货币的更多信息。我相信加密货币是我们未来官方货币,我希望成为这次货币改革中一分子。

给自己一点休息时间

从二零一八年初到二零一九年十二月,我一直没有休假。尽管我参与了很多有趣的项目和任务。但是过度的工作已经使我精疲力尽。十二月我花了八天时间乘游轮去巴哈马度假,这是一个久违了的假期。终于,在旅行之后我又精神焕发起来。

但是,我不想让自己再这么累了。去年年底,我的工作效率非常低下。这是我自2009年失业以来,情绪最糟糕的状态。此外,我不想名字再失去四十个小时的假期。

多为自己请几个假。

总体而言,我觉得二零二零年如果能保持工作与生活的平衡,我能取得更多成就。希望有更好的心情,更好的健康,并且不要发生第三次世界大战

Sort:  

Hello @lnakuma

Welcome to #whalepower Tag Usage
Please Read The Guideline in The Link and Reply below once you have Read. ( click to Read )

I am

Welcome to #whalepower Tag Usage.

Please Read Whalepower Tag Guidelines First
>>> <<<

* This message will shows up; when #whalepower Tag Applied.

Hi @whalepower-guide555,

I have read the whalepower-guide. Where can I find and join the discord? I don't think I found that information.

Congratulations @lnakuma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37