#304 Whirling Up | 回旋舞steemCreated with Sketch.

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

nfbzzuaj81.jpg

Here's a dancing figurine of the Whirling Dervishes, a piece of artwork I found on a street of Istanbul. I watched the dance that day and was impressed by its unique spiritual atmosphere.

The mysterious Whirling Dervishes are a part of the Sufism of Islam. They believe that by performing the Sema dance, dancers can abandon their personal desires and unify with God to achieve the love and wisdom.

As a part of the religious ceremony "Sema", this whirling dance is originated in the 13th century in Konya of Turkey, and you can find the performance and relevant souveniors in many parts of the country.

I found the dancing quite mesmerising. The Dervishes based their whirling on the left foot, while the right foot gave impetus to the rotation in 360-degree steps. Meanwhile, they opened their arms towards the sky and the earth, symbolizing God's beneficence from heaven and his love to people.

In my photo here, you can see the dancer's wearing a tall, conical felt hat (signifying the tombstones of their egos) and a white robe (symbolizing the shrouds of their egos). When I saw this hanging statuette, I felt its white costume go well with the dark background, and the beautiful shape and lines make a good monochrome picture, so I shot it in black and white. It's my entry to @derangedvisions' Photography Contest - Black and White. I like his explanation, which might be inspiring for you too:

What is black and white photography? It is more than just desaturating your image and removing all of the color from it. True black and white photography removes all of the distractions that can come with color and reveals the true essence and emotion of a photograph.

When I shoot, I try and envision what I want the final image to look like, and the type of feel that I want it to have. Doing so makes me conscious of my lens selection, aperture, shutter speed, angles, back drop, and then I have to think ahead to how the photo is going to be edited as well, so I can make sure that I am telling the story through the lens in the first place when I capture the photo so that it ends up the way I want it to when I am done with the final edits.



图文 by Donica多


Thank you for visiting! Please tell me what you think. Exchange makes change! =)

If you like my content, please support me by commenting / following / upvoting / resteeming.

感谢来访!你的关注/点赞/留言/转发就是对我最好的支持~ 下次见!:)


Here are some of my travel shots. Check out my posts on Steemit World Map, and follow me for more adventures around the globe! :)
下面是我的一些旅途摄影。欢迎查看我的Steemit世界地图,跟我一起环游世界~!

Sort:  

Thanks for your 252.33SP to team-cn ! Your post has earned 10% team-cn upvotes!

你今天过的开心吗?来一份新手村小卖部的美食吧!@teamcn-shop如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

你好鸭,阿朵!

@cnbuddy给您叫了一份外卖!

@lovelemon 拧萌 迎着沙尘暴 开着的士 给您送来
贺老师现炒花生

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @itchyfeetdonica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.462 which ranks you at #2228 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2231).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 114 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

A great story behind te picture. Thanks for sharing.

Upvote with CCC.

Thanks for your support! Much appreciated. :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45