You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEAUTIFUL FINLAND

in #qurator5 years ago

Beautiful pictures indeed.
When I think of Finland I think about umbearable winter forests or the imposing architecture of Helsinki.
These images provide a different idea, a pastoral one. So warm and welcoming.
I loved the 2nd and 3rd pictures.
One personal question: why did you move to Estonia to work? Hard to find a job in Finland? I don't know much about Estonia either (looking forward to posts from there)

Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback, Henrry, and for your question.

It was nearly impossible to find a job in Sweden (where I am from). Being an immigrant, with a non-Swedish sounding last name, closed most of the career opportunities for me in Sweden. It didn’t matter that I graduated on top of my class, that it was my second master degree, that I speak and write perfect Swedish, or that I worked for the Swedish government in the past. They see my name on the CV and send it into a paper bin without reading. Estonia was much more welcoming and easier to find a job, work lot less prejudice and discrimination. And it’s a more fun and dynamic place to live in, to be honest. Kind of like Silicon Valley of Northern Europe. Sweden has been going backwards for a while now, both politically, socially and culturally. At least Estonia is still moving forward, inventing a better version of itself every single day.

Wow. I did not know it was this complex. It's an eye-opener for me. Thanks for the details.
Best of luck in Estonia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66