Tasty Tuesday Goes to Thailand for Healthy Food

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

60ehf3xe5v.jpg

Welcome to Tasty Tuesday @fitinfunfood. @qurator just changed their rules for this contest so anyone can enter, even if you are not a member, so I am in!

This blog is new, dedicated to healthy food choices, and run by me, Sharon @fitinfun, a formally life long fat person who finally got thin and healthy at the age of 50.

Ever since that time, I have dedicated my life to helping others do the same thing as me - lose weight with natural methods. I write books, blog, take photos, shoot movies and anything else I can think of to help.

I take a lot of photos, and some of them are good. But my food photos are among my worst and I do like to take them or post them! Can you imagine such a thing?

I may not be fat any more, but I am still obese in my head. Posting about food is one of the hardest things for me to do. I was getting my hand slapped away from food at the age of 4 and now at almost 60, I just really do not like to talk about it.

But you do.

It is the most common question I get asked now that I lost "half my size."

"What do you eat?"

I eat healthy food now, and I love it. I want you to eat it too. But I am not a food stylist and I always hate my food photos and I would rather talk about anything else.

And now, I am in SE Asia, so you can't get what I eat anyway.

And it's not about MY food anyway in weight loss coaching. It's about YOUR food.

I started @fitinfunfood for a number of reasons, and one of them is this. If I have a FOOD blog that needs at least one post a day, I guess I will get one out.

@qurator comes to the rescue for one of those posts each week. Here are the new

uw93yzrbln.png

WooHoo! Thank you @qurator. I have MarketFriday for @dswigle and now this. Only 5 more days to go!

So here is my plan.

I am going through my unprocessed FOOD photo folder on my laptop, starting at the bottom and working my way up by date. I will post some photos to this contest each week and talk to you about the choices I am making and why. Maybe. Or I might just ramble on.

Remember how I said I do not like to take food photos? Well, I have 1311 of them in my FOOD folder! And this is only since I got to SE Asia in 2016.

I'm going to go through and pick the 10-15 of them at the oldest date first and post them and talk about them here. I already have enough material for the next 50 years, so I feel happy about that.

The best of the bunch of photos (in my opinion) will be on the top of the post for the contest entry, so it will be no surprise when we get to it.

I am not going to process the photos or add my watermark now. I have a limited wifi plan that is killing me and have been using Canva. These are bad photos anyway so I do not care if anyone steals them.

However, a measly 100 or so of them HAVE been processed for other posts, and if I can find those, I will post them here too.

So away we go! Week 1 of the new Q contest for @fitinfunfood starts now.

My first shot is a food haul from my local nighttime market at MRT Sutthisan in Bangkok Thailand. I took most of these following photos in an hour or so after I got back to my hotel on June 7 2016.

This is the first of my photos in Bangkok even though I got there in March. I had a new camera and I could not figure out how to put the batteries in it until this time.

My son @bxlphabet was beside himself. "Mom! It's a camera. You can do this! You cannot be in Bangkok unable to take pictures."

I was a bit confused at this time and I could not figure it out. So I decided to just not take photos for a while.

Then one day, I sat down for a good hour and finally figured out the battery. Let's just say I can be really dumb sometimes and the battery went in just like a normal battery does.

So here is the first shot. Sub par, and surely not worth the wait. Every thing at the top and right of the photo - I have no idea what it is. But four huge bananas for 15 THB is a steal - 45 cents usd.

4as15wclgi.jpg

Now I moved the miso packet and came in closer.

qynoybkf2e.jpg

And then, for this next shot - - - what the heck? What kind of food photo is this and why would you even take it? Did I like the packaging? I do not know.

The composition is atrocious.

ibuqjchf17.jpg

My water bottles, coconut milk, and candy bar make an appearance back at the main scene.

7dm9rpaoxi.jpg

Note: I do eat candy on occasion. I am a proud chocoholic and I will try any I see. I do not care for any other sweet - only chocolate.

This bar is tiny compared to one in the US. It's like the size of your finger and expensive. I cannot remember how much, but price was the reason I stopped eating them.

It is also free of most of the 900 bad additives allowed in US food (yes really) and so I was getting them once in a while for dessert. I'm still thin though because I am 80%-90% "perfect" in my eating and the other food is not too bad.

Finally! Some actual food to be seen.

b718als8nu.jpg

These little morsels were some of the best food I have ever eaten in my life. The veggies were delectable and as you see, each one was different.

Whatever they are wrapped in had three layers and was perfect in texture. It broke nicely and the food inside did not pop out.

I even ate the sauce and I am not a sauce eater.

I wish they had never ended. I never saw the lady selling them again. I'm still devastated. She was a genius of salad rolls.

I processed this shot for some contest or another. I guess it looks better. What do you think?

60ehf3xe5v.jpg

It's kind of too red and saturated for me now. but the crop is an improvement.

And these! Notice there are 11 of these tiny sushis. If I bought 10, the eleventh was free! 50 thb for this whole tray of yum and that is $1.50 USD.

8x5lbmeifk.jpg

All handmade by a family with the cutest teenager to speak English with.

zgyrotiz1m.jpg

Guess which one is her?

The other two ladies do not speak English but were very nice to me.

This young girl was only one of about five people who I could talk to in that neighborhood for the two years I lived there. I normally spoke to no one since they only speak Thai. It was a restful time and I liked not talking.

Thailand was the third place I have lived long term when I did not know the language. I would do it again in a heartbeat anywhere that's not cold.

This next shot is the beginning of a chopped omelet salad. I ate them endlessly for months, so you will see this again in future posts.

I bought the omelette and rice at a stall and then got it back to the hotel, chopped it up, and made at least two meals out of it with other ingredients as you will see.

There is rice on the bottom and the chopped up veggie omelet is the star of the show. The important thing in this photo is the texture of the omelette. You can see some of the edges and the tiny yummy veggies. They are all chopped finely at the stall and you tell them which ones you want out of about 15 choices.

I've got cilantro (times two), Thai Holy Basil, and carrots that do not look orange but they are.

zq54sv3oks.jpg

I miss those sunflower seeds so much! I cannot seem to find anything like them in Malaysia. They are raw and unsalted and I ate at least a 10 thb pack a day for two years.

And here that same food from the photo above is again. But now I added:

  • Cut green cabbage looking kind of white
  • Turmeric powder
  • Black pepper
  • Dulse flakes (seaweed)
  • Fresh cilantro
  • Lime juice
  • Coconut Oil

It looks yummy to me, but even a couple of years later, I am kind of burnt out on this since I ate it so constantly for whatever reason I did.

qekefxfpa5.jpg

Here is a different shot of the same salad processed for a post. It is more vibrant and looks better I think.

But the crop and hashtag placement or not my best.

efgyl22z6x.jpg

That's all folks! I am done for this week. After careful contemplation, I decided the salad roll processed photos was the best. But you knew that already, didn't you?

Please Help Me Keep Helping STEEM

I am writing at the same time I am fundraising for money to pay my rent and wifi bills which are due now.

I am still about 80 STEEM short of this first goal in my tragic financial situation. You can read the post about it here:

https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfun/i-must-raise-money-immediately-for-rent-and-wifi-asking-steem-for-help

If you don’t care for the details and just want to help, here is what you can do:

Follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@bxlphabet
@fitinfunfood

We post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you all :)

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD to @fitinfun

I live in the 3rd world - yes, one STEEM will help me.

Upvote any of these posts which are close to payout:

Does Portion Control Help You Get Healthy and Lose Weight?

A Little Bit of Cute by Vance Denver Colorado Street Art

Freewrite Day 448 Fire Alarm

Coronado Farmers Market Friday and My California

Do NOT Power Up Your STEEM to SP!!! Minnow Tip

What is PTSD?

If you can "only" vote some posts - It is enough.
If you can "only" send 1 STEEM - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer advice for how I can do better - It is enough.
If you can "only" offer encouragement and good wishes - It is enough.

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

And be sure to fitinfun no matter what!

Sort:  

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Yes, I did spell my own name wrong. Thank you!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 184 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45