"Age of Idiocracy" @mariannewest freewrite 3/27/18

in #qurator6 years ago (edited)


Some years back I saw a movie it was called "Idiocracy," and was full fledged comedy about the civilized world and how dumb it was getting due to many trends that are occurring present day. It was intended to be 500 years in the future, but I think it may have been off a bit in its timeline.

The movie is over ten years old now, I believe, so that would take the math to 490 years as of present day, but there were things I am seeing in droves today that were featured time and again in this hilarious over the top comedy that to my horror daily is turning into a very prophetic documentary

The horrifying truth of it is that I feel people yes are becoming dumber over time because there is less push for excellence, but almost a required apology for success. The people of today are left in the dust in the things that made some countries great in times of boom, I am especially talking about the US, being the amount of accountability and respect for others, or even acknowledgement of others.

I do not know how many times I am pulling into a busy parking lot and there is someone that is pulling in in front of me, and they stop!? This would be acceptable, say, THEY WERE THE ONLY ----- HUMAN ALIVE. They say money is the root of all evil, ha ha I must disagree, (self-obsessed stupidity) is now the gateway drug from money evil has gotten on and lately it can't enough of it, ha, at least in my tiny corner of the world.

Photo source: "Idiocracy" a 20th Century Fox Studios Distribution, copyright 2006

Sort:  

Oh my this message is spot on. I can't agree with you more, although I never saw the movie, I see how in the past few decades respect for others has eroded so much. Nice freewrite!

The dumbing down of society is almost complete! Now we just need more people to be entertained by plastic toys and drunk guys at concerts... oh wait... 😝

I would tend to agree with you. Considering the state of the world, it seems we are not thinking about the consequences of our actions at all.
It’s myself again with your Wednesday prompt:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-160-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiger

Release the Kraken! You got a 2.33% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @cryptkeeper17!

You got a 13.59% upvote from @slimwhale courtesy of @cryptkeeper17!

Did you know you can make a passive income by simply delegating steem power?
@slimwhale offers the best return on your investment, sharing 100% of the bidding pool rewards, daily, proportional to your investment.
Let's grow together, start earning now by clicking the following links: 10SP, | 50SP | 500SP, | any amount |
For more information, see here or join me on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26