Opportunity and the Disguises it Hides In

in #quotes6 years ago

22B7956E-4FA0-41E3-B271-435855E5FFC3.jpeg

“When the opportunity came, it appeared in a different form and from a different direction than [he] had expected. That is one of the tricks of opportunity. It has a sly habit of slipping in by the back door, and often comes disguised in the form of misfortune, or temporary defeat. Perhaps this is why so many fail to recognize opportunity.”

-Napoleon Hill

Sort:  

take advantage of opportunities or opportunities that you have and don't be afraid to fail.

Those are two very important things. You’re right.

Welcome back dear friend,yes opportunities are there,it is necessary to recognize them and their utilizations.Great quotes,hope you are doing good.

I’m fine. Thank you. It’s good to be back. How is all with you?

I am also good,but really I missed your blog, it's nice to meet you again.Good luck dear.

Thanks, Maya!

and it only knocks once...

It does seem that way, doesn’t it? At least, it only knocks once in the same form.

That's another way of saying that we learn from our mistakes; a good lesson to keep in mind when you feel defeated.

That’s true. I kind of read it as meaning we need to be willing/open to looking at things from a different angle/perspective to see them for what they truelly are. Either way, this quote resonated with me.

That advice is also within that quote.

Interesting. It reminds me of a story from ancient China -
basically means sometimes misfortune is a blessing in disguise.
Here's the English version of it: https://www.italki.com/notebook/3464095/entry/812165

I love that story. My wife and I always say “things happen for a reason,” and try not to stress too much about what seems like misfortune...usually without success.

:) you are right it’s not that easy!

I’ve read that story before in a different form. I can’t think of when or where, but I’ve always liked it.

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I read a lot of Napoleon Hill when in sales. Good stuff.

Did you? I’m trying to enter my 40s with a new approach. I got on a Bob Proctor kick, which led me to Hill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74