Ancient Wisdom.

in #quotes6 years ago

“The best revenge is not to be like your enemy.”

Marcus   Aurelius.

From Wikipedia:

 "Marcus Aurelius was Roman emperor from 161 to 180. He ruled with his adoptive brother, Lucius Verus, until Verus' death in 169, and with his son, Commodus, from 177. 

He was the last of the so-called Five Good Emperors".

He is best known for his Meditations on Stoic philosophy.

(Stoic philosophy teaches self-control  development as a means of overcoming destructive emotions).

 

Sort:  

excellent post very good

Awesome quote, well its very old one but so true to relate in every prospective of life. Thanks for sharing.

@antonella awesome a best known Meditations on Stoic philosophy

I like this. But what if being like my enemy is the way in which I may avoid being victim to my enemy? I suppose the context of the statement is of much importance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90