You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monday Morning Quote: "bravery is acknowledging your fear and doing it anyway."

in #quote6 years ago

Oh gosh @guchtere, but your fear involved some physical damage. I think it's pretty sure comprehensible, just like racing drivers that lose their 'wild attack' after a crash.

Does skiing still represents a risk to your damaged back? Otherwise I'd take it slowly anyways.

Sort:  

Skiing does represent a risk for my back nowadays indeed. But surfing as well. So that's not the thing. Just need to train everything proper. While surfing I'm not chasing any speedrecords anymore. 50km/h is fast enough :P
But ski accident happened way before anything happened to my back. It's somewhere in my mind indeed but can't get rid of it. After the accident went back as fast as possible with my ski's in the hand standing on top. Well the nerves got me there, shirt drenched with sweat really unbelievable. Didn't know what happened to me. So I always learned while streetskating "when your scared you'll fall, so don't be and you'll be fine". I always learned my tricks thinking that way. Broke many bones and always got back on my skates. With skiing I had the accident because of someone else. I was out of control in that one. I think that got me the nerves, I'm still suffering. Tried walking up the hill with my skies a few times now and then, but always ended up sweaty and walking back downhill with the ski's at my shoulder...

That's really interesting, guess it's our brain working as a protective device, strange is that it happens only with the Skii.

Not only the ski, inline-skating also. But with ice-skating no brain problems. So yes it is a bit strange.... But I got no explanation for it!?

Guess we'll have to discover that doing a trip to the Alps hahahahha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39