Monday Morning Quote: "A wise traveler never despises his own country"

in #quote6 years ago

Goooood morning readers! How are you? Monday is here: Head up and let's work!


Monday Morning Quotes: A place where, each Monday, I'll bring my favourite quotes to send you a bit of my positivity to start the week on full power! Hope you enjoy it.

Source: Carlo Osvaldo Goldoni (25 February 1707 – 6 February 1793) was an Italian playwright and librettist from the Republic of Venice. His works include some of Italy's most famous and best-loved plays.


Are you grateful for your country?

My Brazil may have its problems with violence and politics, but I still love that we have tons of nature and different landscapes to explore. Despite all the problems, I'm sure that we have a great spirit, we are always happy and doing our best to succed in life.

Every time I travel to another country, I realise how it's important to have my own yard, a place to call mine. I'm grateful for my country!

And you? What's your interpretation of this quote? Feel free to 'philosophize' on the comments down bellow.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

[Blog #21] News | Quit my job | Projects

Monstrous Breakfast Contest | Make Me Hungry and Win SBD | Winner & Mentions/a>

[Blog #20] Rain Cycling Continuation | 90 km overnight | Got Sick

Monday Morning Quote: "bravery is acknowledging your fear and doing it anyway."

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

It seems unwise to despise a country even if one despises those that run it.

I see loads of brazilians despising our country because of politics @steemonkey
"I wanna leave this garbage country, there's no way to live here" - They say.
When in fact this type of thought is what makes politics so bad, we should be working together into making a better country, instead of despising it and running away. If they despise Brazil, why would they like somewhere else, when they'll be mere foreigners, it's so sad.

Politics and politicians are the problem. It's never the people who are always kept in the dark.

Yeah sure thing, but if brazilians united to do a great strike it would make a gigantic impact, we are milions over here.

Problem is that besides outstanding people, there are the ones who always try to get some advantage on everything, thus, acting like our politicians.

That's why I want to live in a sailboat hahahaha that way I don't need to deal with land stuff anymore.

I know what you mean ;)

I think it's the people, those politicians were normal people, and these normal people have much power bot they don't realize. If people were united, they could make big changes, but when they're selfish, there's not much hope.

That's such a great philosophy. I think people feel powerless and we're wired for negativity.

Sure thing @riverflows, and I do think that the government wants us to live like that, by feeling powerless we won't raise our forces.

It's the consuming mind attitude, "this country has nothing for me, so i should leave it". Though there are few great people with great ideas who leave the country to somewhere that supports their idea, but in most cases it's a consuming attitude,like we're just born to consume.

That's true, some great minds are leaving the country simply because there's no support here, especially when it comes to research.

@mrprofessor,
Nothing, nothing and nothing is better than being in our backyard, our home, it is good to always know new places. But I also have the same idea that our country is wonderful and we have to value it always!


Projeto #ptgram-power | faça parte | ###### Grupo steemit brasil | #steembrasil

Absolutely @bitcoincwb, I've been to several places in this world and can confirm that. At first we think the neighboors yard is greener; when you come back you start to value what we have, all the small details that make a whole difference.

cant get discord at work - it's blocked!!! And i'm stuck in class for 1 hour, then i get my phone - so if you're going to sleep, we'll have to wait til the morning xx Sorry!!!

Also, I agree, we should know our own country. I think sometimes we don't like where we are from as we see it's flaws so closely, and the grass is always greener on the other side! However, I'm glad I travelled Australia first before I went overseas.

Oh yeah! The only complain I have about my country is that it doesn't provide back the taxes we pay; it's really hard to be innovative here, especially for working with tech stuff; everything is overly taxed compared to our paychecks.

I think everyone loves his own country deep deep inside, even if your mad, dissapointed at te current situation. But maybe I'm not the right person to think like this because in the Netherlands everything is calm and quiet. No crazy politics, economics getting better, social safety net for a good living, it's summer😉.

Netherlands

But actually it's not my country I love, but I prefer the area as my number 1. The provence of Zeeland is my home. Think Dutch people are more proud of the area the're living than the country itself. Or we should be standing behind our national soccer team, from that moment everything is orange and we will be shouting along for the Dutch lions.

No Dutch people are really proud of their country, but we're too modest to say it. but locally the same modest people can say that they are proud of the area they are living.

Zeeland


The flag is from my provence, and I return almost every day to it. My cusotmers are everywhere so when I'm driving back home I'll always cross the borders from the provence. While going back I have one stupid thing. I need to open the window from the car and sniff some salty air. Just so that I know I'm being back home.

Why are we so proud? The people in the area I'm living always had to fight against the water. And because we're on the borders of our country people always had the feeling they had to solve everything on their own without any help of the government. Nonse but I can imagine people are feeling it that way. But we also have a interesting history because of the fight against water and the way we used it to explore the big oceans. With historical sea admiral (or pirate depends from what side your looking at this) Michiel de Ruyter as the most famous name I assume.

But our real fame I think will be the Deltaworks!
Those are build because of the last gigantic flood in 1953 where 1800 people got killed by the water. This contruction project is build to protect the whole are from the sea.

Damn thinking about this I should write a post about my provence 🤣

What an amazing comment @guchtere, that's almost a blog post!

Why are we so proud? The people in the area I'm living always had to fight against the water. And because we're on the borders of our country people always had the feeling they had to solve everything on their own without any help of the government.

I loved this part as I see that many brazilians expect the government to do everything, when in fact we could indeed work innovatively to create solutions. I know we pay taxes; I know they should come back in beneficts... but using our brain doesn't hurt. I feel sad seeing my engineering colleagues studying to apply for public positions instead of trying to create new ideas.

I'm afraid I have to disagree with you... we are people who want to take advantage on other people. So despite I love my country, its poblem is the people who live in it!


ptgram power | faça parte | grupo steemit brasil

Can be @aotearoa,
we have both sides in my point of view and we need to take extra care with the midea, as they'll always print the ugly part. I've travelled quite a lot in Brazil, surprisingly I've always encoutered good people, that genuinely wanted to help me.

That's why I've decided to work as a teacher for some time, so I could not only teach English to the kids, but also pass some humanity to them. My 2 years observations is that we can build a GREAT country if we can start with the root, the kids. The idea of trying to take advantage is clearly passed for the kids by their terrible parents.