That was an awesome comment I made, if I do say so myself.

in #questions7 years ago (edited)

We all love people that laugh at their own jokes. lol!

We love it when people re-enact scenes from movies that we haven't seen too. Classic.

We also love it when people recount their stories about how they 'burned' someone online.. "and then I said... then he said... and I said... lol, it was awesome, you should have been there, I was awesome! lolol!"

We love it when people talk about how awesome they are and we also love it when they quote others who talk about how awesome others think they are too. "I am awesome, everyone says so. lol"

Credit where credit is due as they say.

So why complain when people upvote their content in a site that rewards quality? After all, if someone writes a comment that they see as quality they should by all means upvote themselves. That is the point.

Today I saw from a person, and I quote:

100% agree. - $25.25
Now, he has bought into the site by the looks in May 2017, his account is worth 100,000 and he hasn't started blogging. He comments a hell of a lot though, all upvoted 100% by himself.

Lets view a bit more of the literary gold:

hehe - $24.34
217 :) - $24.73
Beautiful! - $25.77
Welcome to Steem! - $22.79

This is awesome for a site looking to be built on the reward of quality content. This means that people are investing heavily only to get access to the pool of resources but not actually rewarding much of the content providers here.

So the majority of the pool shrinks to only a few hundred accounts and the few hundred thousand survive off the water splashed out of the pool. Kind of like how scum survives around the edges of a pond. Forget minnows, bacteria will have trouble surviving with so little moisture if this continues. lol!

If everyone does this, the site will be dead almost instantly, wouldn't it?

I can't see how people acting similar to above will be in it for the Steemit long-run. They will make what they can and when it looks like it won't last, 13 weeks later their capital will be gone again, plus the significant amounts they have been reward raping from the pool in the lead up.

That means there may be no long-run at all and those acting like above are the smart money in a Ponzi scheme that got out before the collapse. Even though, they are the ones that caused the collapse themselves.

But hey, as long as we keep posting good quality content consistently the site will survive and the rewards will come. To someone at least.

Take deep breaths and suck all the humidity out of the air as possible. lololol! upvote!

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

I really do hope that @ned and the witnesses are working on this problem though. This site really could be awesome if given the chance to develop.

Sort:  

That behaviour will be the end of putting time into content and which will spell the end (or change point) for the platform. If it doesn't stack up theres no point.

Thats why I say the platform needs to develop. Because great content gets lost down the block chain for ever and never gets the chance for the rewards due.

Thank you for calling this out! I have no problem with people upvoting their own comments if they are actually creative thoughts that took time to come up with, but Steemit will be toast if hehe is valued at $25. I upvote some of my own comments but save most of my voting power for curating others content - the way it is meant to be if you ask me.

I also think the autovoting is a bit out of control for some users whose content is mediocre but thats just how it is...

I totally agree with you. Made a post about the exact same issue right after hf19. This will not end well. Upvoted took a down swing and self upvoting is now the new trend. Curation is just not enough attractive to keep good content being upvoted in the platform.

Sheesh mate! You've had me working hard all night long with the always increasing cognitive consonance and inspiration from the Haute Cuisine for Gourmets provided by the menu of your exquisite posts today. Avidly tasting your recipes sprinkled with that special ingredient for which I currently have an insatiable appetite for sharing with everyone else.
I had to act quick to adorn and serve these same dishes with my own style & spices in the diner room of my blog as soon as this has been possible to me before lose the inspiration.

And if you dare to taste a very hot & spicy version of them. ¡You Are Welcome! :)

Even as a newbie, I totally agree with you.
I see some high reputation steemians say that they will NOT vote for those who upvote themselves.
Well, why not give my own work a stamp of approval...

Yeah, it is a bit out of hand at the moment. I started upvoting my own posts (not comments) last week but have stopped again now. My vote isn't worth that much anyway.

Perhaps a patch will come in quickly.

LOL...my vote is still semi worthless as well, but we strive for valuable upvotes!!

hey bro I hope you dont mind me linking to this awesome post

No worries

thank you, you articulate what I want to say so well and your humour is spot on it really makes it easy to digest and accept :)

This is a great article! There will be no point of putting in effort in our posts anymore if that's what's the future holds. Changes are needed.

But people will still vote for themselves, because they are the most intelligent and witty.

And to increase the reward for beginners, it would be nice to have some contests or relay races, in the rules of which there is a point - you can not vote for yourself, and necessarily for others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43