Question of the Day #7steemCreated with Sketch.

Taos0 copy8.jpg


Scott and I tend to see a road that looks really interesting and we will turn down it just to see what is there. Because of this, we have found some of the most amazing places. One of those places is the Wedding Cake Mesa on county road 456 in New Mexico. The whole Dry Cimarron Canyon was amazing; if we would have taken the road the navigator suggested, we would have missed this amazing view.

Have you ever taken a road just because you were curious what was there?

What exactly is Question of the Day? This is an opportunity for us to get to know you all better. We aren't concerned so much with the votes as we are about finding out about your responses. Now if you want to upvote us, that's great and we won't complain; but it is not what we are after here. We are wanting the interaction with these posts.

Thanks and now back to the questions!
Ren

Sort:  

And so we meet again! The crazy roads led us to Mexico though haha

Scott and I tend to see a road that looks really interesting and we will turn down it just to see what is there.

We do the exact same thing actually, and loved this part of New Mexico too. Never saw the Wedding Cake Mesa though; so many hidden gems around the country, isn't there?! :)

I found your post because @bengy featured you in his Pay it Forward Curation contest entry. As one of the judges, I'd like to invite you to join us some week with an entry of your own :)

Thank you so much for the inivitation! We have been helped by so many of your wonderful people. Both Scott and I have been wanting to join, but being so new to this place we have put it off until we get a good grasp of understanding it all.

With that said, we are finally finding our footing and ready to take the plung. So where do we go for information?

I am so glad to see we are not the oy serendipitous travelers here! There is nothing like it really. You choose a destination and just go, allowing your curiosity to find the way. How exciting it can be.
Ren.

So glad to hear it! If you click on the "contest" link in my comment above, it will take you to last weeks' contest; this weeks' will be posted tomorrow and it runs Tues-Sunday. Let me know if you have any questions though, or of course, as away on the contest post tomorrow :)

Yes - I do this all the time... in fact, I regularly get into hot water for exploring paths and alleyways that lead to who-knows-where, only to discover a beautiful garden and an irate owner at the end of many (or a naked sunbather!!)

When it comes to doing the same in the car, well, I have to say that most drives are like that for me. I never recognise the roads I'm on and I have no memory for directions- so most of the times I head off somewhere, I get lost and explore places by accident!

E x

Exactly! We have been there so many times. I love it though because there are places we have seen that we never would have found otherwise.

DSC03539.JPG

We were driving almost straight down for this place. We had no idea it was here, but what a reward!
Ren

Dropping by and supporting your post @xcountytravelers, due to the entry of it, by @bengy, into our Pay It Forward Community's weekly curation contest. As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it.

”Have you ever taken a road just because you were curious what was there?“

Absolutely! In my "old life," traveling around the western half of North America while working in the mining industry, got to spend a lot of time on "the roads less traveled!"

Later in life now, my wife and I intentionally stay off the freeways and travel down slower roads, through small town America, where (from our perspective) there is still a little remnant of sanity ...

Thank you for your effort here to add value to our Steem blockchain!


P.S. Noting above your interest in more info, simply follow links there or here, to @bengy's post, which in turn has a link to the @pifc weekly contest post.

OR ... Just click directly on @pifc and scroll down through their posts, for more info ... We'd love to have you join "the cause!"

Thank you so much for visiting us and answering the question of the day. I do love hearing what people have to say. The more I listen, the I see we are all the same - we just want to be happy and enjoy life.

I am happy to hear that you and your wife like the backroads too! Aren't they amazing? Scott and I joke that it's not a true adventure until we drive on a gravel road.

I have been a bit busy today preparing for our Tucson trip (you can learn more about that here... https://steemit.com/counties/@xcountytravelers/every-county-counts-in-arizona-go-fund-me ) so I will be sitting down Sunday to take a look further into pic. Thank you for the links.

Thanks again.

Sure, my pleasure @xcountytravelers. Happy to do it!

"I have been a bit busy today preparing for our Tucson trip"

Sounds great. I started my career in Tucson, so well familiar with it. Still a little "warm" down there for my tastes, but lots of interesting things to see all around there ...

Until we "meet" again, safe travels!

I came to your post because @bengy featured you in The Pay It Forward Contest

I enjoyed your post. some great views out there to take pictures of

I think this is one of my favorite things to see when we travel. I just love seeing the amazing places. Thank you, by the way for checking out our posts.
Ren

I think I've run across you before - great posts! I'm back today because @bengy featured you in his entry for this week's Pay it Forward Curation contest. I love your traveling and would like to know if you've been to Clatsop County, Oregon yet. That's my home turf - and loved growing up there. Currently, I live in Natrona County, Wyoming - not as beautiful, perhaps, but another great place to live!

And yes, I have taken roads (or buses/trains) just because I hadn't been there before. It's fun. And you often find little gems that you would have missed otherwise!

I think finding the gems of the counties are the best! It is wonderful that we are not alone in just going down a road just to go and see what is there. Oh, trains, I so want to take a train.

I am so glad you found us! Your name looks very familiar and I can't wait to show up in the counties you have been in and are currently. Keep watching to see where we will be, make sure to let us know when we plan to head your way.

I will try to keep up! I find it easy to get lost on Steemit!

When I lived in England, I traveled a lot by train. It's such a great way! But the first train journey I took was actually from Milwaukee, WI, to Portland, OR, (or Seattle - I actually can't remember which one now as I've made multiple journeys - and some were by bus) - it was an amazing experience!

One time, we were living in Newbury in Berkshire, we watched trains going by that were for Bedford. We decided to go to Bedford just for the heck of it. It turned into an interesting 5-7 mile walk at the other end including this Crofton Beam Engine which helped feed the top of the canal that we were living along at the time. It's still one of the oldest, operating beam engines in the world. So, huge experience at the other end! (We also ended up crossing the main line tracks with the help of a signalman - an unusual thing for sure! Necessary though because the trains cross there at high speed with little warning.) Someday, I'll have to see if I can find some free-to-use pictures to illustrate that journey as I have no photos of the journey.

Oops, Bedwin, not Bedford, lol.

Oh, sounds like we are cut from the same cloth! You make me want to chuck the Tucson trip and take a train!
Ren

The one disadvantage of the train is the inability to be able to go very far once you get there unless you rent a car there... but it's definitely a great way to get a taste of America - as I discovered when I met a Swedish couple on that first train journey of mine.

If you ever get to Europe, check out railpasses that you can buy from here - they are generally the best way to get around and see lots of Europe very quickly.

Your photo reminds me a lot of a place upcountry here in South Africa called Golden Gates. Similar rock formation and colouring. When I still lived overseas (first the States and later in the UK) I used to love jumping in my car and just driving. The only rule was I was never allowed to go the same way. It was an amazing way to discover the area, even people and special almost-forgotten places.

Sounds like fun.

We frequently detour down roads just to see what's there. It's one of the reasons we try and visit each county. It takes us to an area that may not have a lot of interest to tourists, and we try to find something interesting there. We nearly always do.

Scott

Posted using Partiko Android

Great article. Yes, I tend to do that myself. Sometimes I end up in weird places with no option other than going back... Or I find incredible places. A few times I was stopped by a pack of barking dogs. Scary situations.

PS: I have found your post because @bengy featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Well, thank you @bengy! I really love what the PIFC community is doing. And definitely, thank you for stopping to read and participate.

Scary! It has been crazy enough listening to the coyotes howling.
Ren

Hola @xcountytravelers, te felicito por tu articulo, llega a tu post por @bengy , esta participando en el concurso de curaduría Pay it Forward, un abrazo.

Muchas gracias por venir a visitarnos. lo apreciamos mucho. ¿Tu viajas? cuando lo haces, tomas un camino que parece interesante o simplemente la ruta más rápida.
Ren

(translated with Google Translate.

Thank you so much for coming to visit us. we appreciate it so very much. Do you travel? when you do, do you take a road that looks interesting or just the quickest route?)

Cuando mis hijos estaban pequeños viajaba mas, ya por la edad salgo muy poco, pero ahorita viaje a la Isla de Margarita con mi hija, demoramos mas de 12 horas por carretera y 6 horas en el ferry, es un viaje muy pesado, no creo que lo haga otra vez, me regresare en avión.

Guau. Eso suena como un viaje importante seguro. Espero que haya sido un buen viaje con tu hija.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66