Well after nearly a year, I finally heard directly from Ned.

in #questionauthority7 years ago (edited)


[-]sircork (61) · 55 minutes ago
But... you didn't actually answer them, @ned, you just copy-pasta'd the same shit you've said on every other thread about this and it's not a satisfactory show of accountability whatsoever, it's pathetic back-peddling in the face of an entire community calling you dumb right now.

$0.00Reply Edit
····

[-]ned (69) · 26 minutes ago
It actually accomplished a specific goal. To uncover their hidden plans to compete. They jumped at the opportunity to announce - if you didn’t notice.

I’m all for competition if it must be - I wasn’t for subversive contradictory, pre competitive narratives.

Here’s how I explained it to the Witnesses

Witness: Well, on the discussion if eos aims to compete with steem or not. The first example contract that was uploaded to their public repository was actually this one: https://github.com/EOSIO/eos/blob/master/contracts/social/social.cpp

Ned: Yeah, it was not hard to put the clues together. Beyond that they’ve been talking privately about competing directly since the beginning. Better to take the sheeps clothing off the wolf. Thank me later

We’ll compete openly if we compete at all, better than an aggressive, surprising subversion moment 6-10 months later. Only reason it hasn’t happened sooner is the order of development [infrastructure first] that needs to happen.

Now we build. SMTs outcompete. Communities out network. Build or die regardless.

More on SMTs at https://SMT.Steem.io

$0.00Reply
·····

[-]sircork (61) · 3 minutes ago
Hidden plans? Really? It's a block chain built by the same guy that built this one. If you think his agenda is hidden, how did you ever become a CEO who is barely old enough to be out of college?

I was busy being live hosting a show on the SteemStar Network streaming network promoting steem and steemians with a couple other witnesses (im in the 70s myself) during that dialog or I certainly would have been there.

Many of us have spent 1000s of hours on this platform each, building it and by extension you, up. I'd ask you to keep that in mind with your actions, as @clayboyn has done.

As my business mentors would say, you ain't too big to fail and you are as only as strong as your customer loyalty.

As my momma would say, you ain't too big to spank.

Get a grip and restrain yourself. The theater is just not serving your goal whatsoever, and made you look really bad.

As I understand the history, Dan sort of handed you this life. You might want to think that through before pissing him off.

$0.00Reply Edit Delete

**Original Thread on this Post by @Clayboyn

https://steemit.com/steemit/@clayboyn/an-open-letter-to-ned

[edit] Ned has continued discussing this with me over there and it gets juicier!

Sort:  

Wait till I unleash some inconvenient truths later
Some of us do right, we may not all be friends but most of us can agree that some things AND PEOPLE deserve better, and some deserve to not have their accounts allowed on here.

upvoted for self aggrandizement but considering a break down of what some on trending are doing I doubt a .25 cent upvote for my work will really make a dent into what's up,
There are enough dolphins and witnesses and those who care who are about to ball up , there are more of us united than you can imagine and yet a handful the "leadership" allows to do abusive stuff
SO, .......

I have never thought Ned was much of a manager, or CEO.
A great visionary, yes.
A great software engineering manager, maybe not...

Not that DAn would be any better.
People need to leave these things to generalists, and overview people; but Ned and DAn are too much geniuses to manage the day to day of Facebook style engineering teams in my view.

Jeepers @surfyogi! Where the HELL have you been man? I've been out here slogging around thinking to myself, there used to be this dude Surfyogi that started when I did, and I've lost him out here somewhere. This won't look good on my annual review. I hope we find him soon, and boom, here you are again. Looking good, that wallet makes your butt look fat. Glad all looks solid in your scene. :)

I agree with all your sentiments except maybe the great visionary bit, since all of this is stuff that has been dreamed of since the 70s lol

Say hello to Nikolai for me ;)

Ur funny...
Looking!

You exude class!

(gym class)

:P

All right, for all of us who arrived to the party late and probably underdressed, can we get someone who can generate a clear and concise summary for the rest of us?

Because for all that I am probably one of the more savvy members of the community, I've never been one for following drama terribly directly and, if were being honest with one another, after the first month or so I really found digging into the underbelly of how the system works more than a little tedious because of the obsession with drama as the real currency of Steemit.

I decided to just go off and do my thing, and in general I'm pretty happy with that.

But now it appears that I really should put my finger on the pulse of what's going on because – apparently – it encompasses stupidity on a vast and critical level.

Which is cool. I love schadenfreude.

So if we could get a management-level, point by point high-level description of what's going on, I would be deeply appreciative.

Upvoted for truth agranddizment

I feel like I have seen the edges of this thing going on.

But – it's so silly! Why is this even a thing? Of all the drama that could be running on Steemit, which is constantly running on Steemit, why would @ned be bothering with this little penny-ante shit? And again, I use scatological terms sparingly on Steemit, so I must really have very little respect for the things I'm observing.

I also read the thread which you linked to earlier in the pile with the open letter, and I come away shaking my head. Not because of the sheer level of drama, though that is pretty significant, too, but because there is really nothing going on aside from a CEO acting like a bit of a dick on a social network, and Hades knows we have plenty of examples of that going on elsewhere.

As far as I can tell, EOS is "just another altcoin" at this point, right? Just one more ERC-20, among literally thousands. They don't seem to have any kind of social network platform or even proof of concept that I can seem to find, and while their website is quite pretty, we know that translates to absolutely nothing in terms of what the eventual "working platform" will look like.

Which is to say, it's a total stretch to suggest that EOS is a "competitor" in any sense of the word at this point, except for being just another altcoin.

Could something eventually come to be out of that? Absolutely! And it would be great for all of us if it did. Maybe it would have social media features that have become commonplace in the last decade – unlike Steemit.

The cynical, yet conspiracy-minded part of my twisted little brain really wants to believe that this is, in fact, a conspiracy. No one could be that stupid in public. No one could be involved in that amount of projection, and ridiculous posturing in public, as a CEO. Surely, surely, this is a coordinated effort between the two to generate some fake drama in order to drive up interest in EOS and maybe jumpstart some cross-pollination by investors. If I were Ned, I would definitely already have an investment in EOS as well as STEEM, because he has plenty of liquid investment to play with and it's always better to be on the ground floor of a winner, even if you have some money temporarily in a loser.

That's what I'd like to believe, anyway. Unfortunately, I am well aware that wanting to believe the thing is a sure flag that thing is not true. This is probably exactly what it appears to be in nothing more.

And that's kind of sad.

If we had actually seen any development in SMT's over the last few months, if we had actually seen any implementation of the roadmap for the last couple of years over the last few months, if we had actually seen something going on with Steemit as a platform that wasn't just encouraging people to go build their own tools, their own ecosystem off of Steemit – it would be a lot easier, interestingly enough, to believe this frantic story of "being afraid of a competitor."

As is, this reads more as someone being kind of dumb. I think that might be worse.

Really I can aggrandize you in one word.

Yep

But I will add, you totally nailed it and got an A on the final exam, Doctor.

All of that. All true.

I'm pretty aggrandized in general. It comes with having a simultaneously enormous ego and massive case of imposter complex.

It's a writer thing.

The problem with my analysis, and I absolutely acknowledge it as a problem, is the question of "so what the hell should I do about it?"

I almost want to go stick some money into EOS, just to be kind of an ass, but honestly I haven't seen anything which is going to back up EOS as a valued token yet, and I really hate to waste money just on general principles – so that's not really a good idea.

I can keep hounding @ned about being dumb in public, but that seems counterproductive. Not that he could be any less productive, lately, as far as any of us can tell, but I'd rather not be blamed for a delay of SMT's beyond another six months. Or yet another excuse to not improve the Steemit interface. Or no more commentary on the bandwidth issue for new users.

I don't want that on my conscience.

So in the end, all I'm left with is a vague sense of disquiet and disgust, and no better option than just "keep doing what I'm doing," using the platform for blogging, keep sharing the links, "keep sharing the tapes." It worked for MST3k.

Unfortunately, none of this actually provides something useful for us to do. I object to that.

I will stand by you as we ponder the yonder.

Hai .... @lextenebris,,?Maybe my future will be like someone like you bright and bright, but if I do not know it, maybe with my behavior towards you @lextenebris who are always honest

Loading...

Bully, bully for you sir! Upvoted and resteemed for the aggrandizement of...

HORSE SENSE

I really like to read posts that teach about things that are important to those that are wanting to make STEEM a great place and for it to grow. Many trending topics, at times, go over my head.

I and many others want the STEEM blockchain to succeed. The difference STEEM is making in lives through the work of You Are Hope as well as giving individuals on the platform; is nothing short of outstanding.

Thank you @sircork and many others like you that work very hard to help others with your god-given skills and sacrifice of time and resources.

Also, I do not see you as self-aggrandizing (referring to your comment, which was funny by the way), just a character among the many characters of the STEEM blockchain world. You help make this place interesting!

The self aggrandizing was ned's reason for flagging dan on sunday. ;) That was a mocking jab here ;)

I know, I got the joke. Just needed a closer for my comment! It was meant to be a compliment. (...I really need to work on complimenting people.)

Nah, that shit is overrated, hoss. ;)

Loading...

Upvoted for self aggrandizement.

Lolx @sircork. That's definitely a unique use of the term.
DFSA!

Heard it from a friend ;)

A very special post for me.

I hope this matter will not degenerate to an unhealthy level?

It jumped that shark sometime last Fall.

oh yeah

Photos that I admire and are greati @jesse2you

VERY INTERESTING

Yes, quite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33