Quarantine Diaries

in #quarantine4 years ago

roofwindows2777582_1280.jpg

Here in Central Washington, USA the virus continues to circulate and we are down to essential services. Grocery stores remain open, but the shelves are constantly bare of many items. I don't think there is a real risk of hunger yet, mostly inconvenience at least in my circle.

I still have toilet paper and am getting dangerously low on paper towels. :) I think we will be okay.

It seemed for a couple of days that my husband was going to be joining me working from home, but for the start of next week he will be doing some finish work on a few projects that are deemed essential. For us at this time we remain mostly intact financially other than investments being down.

The weirdest part of this is how surreal it feels in this strange new world that I don't yet know how to navigate.

I haven't left my house since Monday, but I will be heading out today for supplies and to make sure my car has gas. If we knew when things would get back to normal that would help.

I've also noticed that in my neighborhood as the weather gets nicer backyard parties over the fences have started to develop. People don't have to get up in the morning, cool evenings are off set with small backyard fires and beers and conversations over the fence.

image.png

^ like this only further apart.

Regarding the Boomers we are saving, every couple of days I speak with my dad who is 76 and in excellent health. He thinks this is all utter bullshit. His quote: We asked people to die for Freedom, not for safety..

Eh, I think he has earned the right to his own opinion.

@whatsup

Sort:  

It is a strange new world, indeed.

Yesterday, we came to the realization that this whole "sheltering in place" isn't really all that different from our regular life. Both Mrs. Denmarkguy and I are introverts, and we both work from home, and we have a very small social circle to begin with. "Going Out," for us, mostly means hiking in the park, walking on the beach, or taking the talk walking the neighborhood. We still do that. The only thing materially different... would be the empty grocery shelves, and closed down shops when we drive by.

Stay well; stay healthy!

Haha, it's true I work from home... I thought my husband might be joining me, but it turns out they reassigned him instead. But we will miss our weekend trips.

I am glad to hear you have enough toilet paper. From the way people are fighting over them, they must have a very important link to humanity's survival. If only I can wrap my simple mind around that fact and see the reason or truth behind it. Have a great weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67