and then: Goosebumps all over... read listen and NJOYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #qsounds5 years ago (edited)

Two days ago I was triggered by @iamevilradio who posted about Jon Hopkins (post here) as part of his little project to bring forward interesting videos of music tracks he really likes; Mostly techno, but also some other genres. Must say: Some very cool video clips! And about the music itself? Well, this guy is known for going for the quality stuff!

Getting curious? Check his channel, and when interested in the cool music videos, go through his posts of last week, about seven of them.

Now back to why I write this post: Jon Hopkins



image taken from Singularity video © Jon Hopkins (source)

Immediately after hearing the track in the previous mentioned post, I started to check his other works at Soundcloud... one of my goto music sources, together with Spotify (I have a subscription with them), Bandcamp and sometimes YouTube.

Listening to some works of this guy - clicking through his works for half an hour - resulted in goosebumps! WOW! This guy is good!

To allow me to work while listening, I prefer to listen to sets; The hunt for a cool one was on... Went back years and years, since I wanted to hear what he has done in the past. Two recordings did please me a lot, of which the one I listened to several times by now is included below.

I really like to hear this guy live! Fortunately he is programmed at coming Dekmantel festival, early August. Unfortunately, I'll be in Poland, at Garbicz festival; Also very cool and looking very much forward to coming edition, but no Jon Hopkins :(

He'll be at Sonar Reykjavik in April; Never been to Iceland; On my TODO list; So maybe shall book a trip?... orrrrr... I simply go to an event called Catch 2019 which is on at Tivoli in Utrecht end-ish March - just a half an hour drive away from my home :)

In the mean time, I'm enjoying the set below very very much!

How About YOU?


Artist: Jon Hopkins
Set: FACT mix 388
Year: 2013
Country: UK

source soundcloud

Artist Music

Spotify Beatport Bandcamp Soundcloud YouTube

Artist Discography

Discogs

Artist Gigs

Resident Advisor Website

Artist Website

Website


Music Library with more than 300 Entries

blockchain curator for @illuminati-inc and @qsounds
you like to follow @qsounds curation trail?
use this direct link:
https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=qsounds&i=1

Sort:  

Glad you enjoy him. I love Jon Hopkin’s sound design. He’s always someone who seems to operate on the fringes of Techno seeming more focused on writing albums and film scores while letting some techno heavyweights takes is tracks to the dance floor. There are some fairly recent ANNA and Daniel Avery remixes worth checking out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really do like him indeed! Cool, will check them out! Looking at his schedule, he still plays at some club events and festivals; must say, it are not the everyday festivals :)

Nice article my brother is a Dj and he likes your article..keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! And I'll try :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36