Scam is never the solution: work hard

in #q6 years ago (edited)

get-me-out-1605906_960_720.jpg

I have written some articles on scam previously, but writing another simply means that the need for scam awareness arose once more.
The issue of scam is not something to be taken lightly as it affects two people similar to how the saying goes...

A man on the quest for revenge must first dig two graves, one for himself and one for his enemy.

Scamming is a fraudulent act characterized by the tactful acquisition of another man's property under deceitful conditions. Simply put, to scam means to obtain another man's property with deceitful intentions.
A typical example can be viewed as when someone messages you on either steemit chat or any other chat sites,pretending to be someone else and asks you to send money to him/her to receive higher gains either through upvotes or other means knowing fully well that the person who messaged you is not who he/she claimed to be.

Usually a scam relies on a wanting victim who is desperate for a particular service, a mastermind who knows what the victim wants and the way not to get caught.
In this scenario, I will be using steemit as an instance. The mastermind pretends to be a whale on steemit or someone with access to a lot of steem power, the victim, probably a desperate minnow hungry for upvotes and the escape route is the exchanger such as bittrex/blocktrades which relies on anonymity to protect client privacy.
scam-2048851_960_720.jpg
The thing is, these exchangers such as @blocktrades and bittrex were set up with good in mind, to help make physical monetization of cryptocurrencies possible and easier for cryptopreneurs, but when there is good, bad also exists. Certain people now turn the privacy it offers to serve as a route for their illegal activities.

A lot of people might say why not remove anonymity, the answer to that lies in another powerful riddle which states that...

The solution to a headache is not to cut off the head

The way to preventing scam lies first of all in the ability to be contented with what is available to us and work diligently not always looking for shortcuts to everything.
There are several ways to get scammed on the platform but the quickest way to ruin all scams is to be informed at all times.

There are people who go as far as building sites meant to resemble original sites like https://steemit.com and if one is not careful, you will not notice discrepancies in spelling and such an unsuspecting individual will input his/her login details and the scammer will have access to your account.

If you feel your account has been compromised, please feel free to change your password with maximum alacrity. Your account is your identity, if it is compromised, you are also compromised.

Quick guides to password security

  • Never give your password to people.
  • Always have your password safely back upped.
  • Change your password if you feel you have been compromised.
  • Cross check sites before you input your password.
  • Close tab and re enter pages if you were logged out suspiciously.


You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks to @camzy/ @samstickkz and @elyaque for the animated art and badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)

Images from pixabay


lion badge.png

Sort:  

Though, anyone can be a victim of scammer's circumstance but with what this article portrays, falling a victim will amount to foolishness.

I had learned that in a hard way.
Though no one scammed me ,rather i scammed myself when i negligently forgot to back up my password and i lost an account to steemit. Steemit would not recover it unless i provide the owner's key.

Have learned.

The way to preventing scam lies first of all in the ability to be contented with what is available to us and work diligently not always looking for shortcuts to everything

You have given the anti-dote.....contentment. Most times greed would make one fall into the hands of scammers. Let us avoid this vice, and take things little at a time. Thanks dear for sharing.

I've been scammed a few times and this makes me more of a cynicist most of the time when it comes to trusting people. When I see someone too eager to get a benefit from me, or too dismissive about my questions about the part of the deal that benefits me, I usually just put a scammer tag on their foreheads and stop talking to them.

So, if someone offers you someone that seems way too beneficial for you compared to what you're giving, always ask yourself about where the other person would take benefit. Scammers usually act as if the response to our questions were obvious or as if we weren't able to understand complex talk about the specific details of the transactions.

I haven't been scammed in years and I think I've learned my lessons. A bit of distrust is never too much. If it seems too good to be true, it usually is, but don't just leave it at that. Always make your own research.

Scamming is not a lazy choice but one with a lot of effort and high revenue. It's for people who don't care about others. I tell you, though, they tend to have a thorough understanding of what they're doing. Even though many may be lazy, there are many educated scammers. Don't think that lack of knowledge is always a sign of scamming. You'll be in for a big surprise.

like you said, it is not a lazy choice. sometimes, they put in lot of hours trying to scam people and have nothing to show for it until they finally get a victim. they usually work hard and long at it, and have the patience to bait their prey. I think that it would be in the best interest of a person to be contented with what he or she has like @ehiboss has said, and then, work hard and diligently towards goals.

@Ehiboss! You have thought well to have written this airticle. But i must complement your effort by advicing all scammers especially those in nigeria and other africa countries to quit scam and hold up to steemit!!! It pays. It rewards your effort legally. It gives you rest of mind and a reinvestment opportunities... So @ehiboss keep your good work up ok. Jahbless. @donjerro.

Thanks for the advise, I pray all scammers take heed.

Scamming and plagiarism is becoming the order of the day on Steemit lately. We have so many people finding shortcuts to get rewards through posts that lack creativity and you see them using disclaimers like "I saw this online and decided to share".

I commend the flagging feature on steemit. If not for this feature there would be lot of scammers and plagiarisers in the community. Flagging has helped to curb this act to some reasonable extent.

Cheers!!!

Also Steemcleaners. Put all those scammers and plagiarists there and let them rot in flag hell.

You nailed it bro

Thanks for advocating against those that has made it an habit to always find a way to abuse the system. I really think you made some important points to curtail the risk of being exposed

The dude's got it right. Steemit is full of scammers nowadays. I've legit gotten more than 10 requests on the chat to give people money, and even more greetings from people passing as big bots or services. We gotta be careful where we tread on these lands.

I noticed such an account today. It was my fault actually. The comment had been hidden but because I am always poking my nose into things, I opened the post and saw a link in which the guy claimed to have posted the same post as the one on which he was commenting.

Yes I clicked on the link and truly it was the same post. But luckily, I saw the time of the post and it was later than the original post.

The second thing that made me catch on was very simple. My steemit interface is on nightmode so every blog I open is black. This one was white. It felt so unreal. The feel of darkness carried my eyes to the address bar and behold the steemit in the address bar had double 'i'. So it had 'steemiit'instead of 'steemit'.

Before I could leave the login page opened asking me to log in. I just tapped on back with all alacrity. I was lucky I tell you.

You're warned look carefully before you fill youe details anywhere, not just on steemit, anywhere; online or offline. Peace.

Hahahaha, those damned fake links! I had one that was in night mode, so I could've easily been tricked if I didn't know the Steemit interface by heart. I had that guy flagged to death.

People use scamming as their means of income in my side of the country. Its a sad and deplorable state we're in because these guys are often celebrated

I always held the belief that things like scams will only ever help you in the short-term while hard work will always be the thing that will actually set you free!

That belief is golden

Thanks for making this post

I know a guy that was scammed recently I shared the pictures on a group.... I belive the guy was just being naive but like ehiboss said

Never give your password to people.
Always have your password safely back upped.
Change your password if you feel you have been compromised.
Cross check sites before you input your password.
Close tab and re enter pages if you were logged out suspiciously.

The picture below will show a recent scam site... Please try not to put your details there
![IMG-20180220-WA0034.jpg()

This guys that was scammed his wallet was wiped

Thanks for the awareness @ehiboss most newbies need to know this

ROFL!!!! They didn't even make an effort on the interface! How did he fall for that?

By the way, my man, if you ever see someone sharing that kind of links, report them to Steemcleaners.

I looked for the image, thanks for bringing it here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55